Notsicknotsicknotsick…Sick.

So all that talk about not really being sick yesterday?

Well, I’m sick.  Like legit sick. Flu-like sick. Yuck.

I haven’t been sick in at least three years, maybe longer. So you can imagine how awful of a patient I’ve been so far. Whiny. Stubborn (still thinking I can do stuff around the house, trying to avoid taking meds, etc.). Downright annoyed that I’m sick.

Why? Well mostly because it’s a rarity for me to get sick but also because it makes me feel so helpless and as if my body has failed me.

Well, it’s quite the opposite actually – my body has stood strong and germ-free for THREE years. So the fact that I’m sick for the first time in such a long time is impressive and I should quit whining about it right?? <—I know my husband would love it if I did!

So I’m going to attempt to be a good patient today, sitting as still as possible (to avoid dizzy spells, oof) and maybe, just maybe, allowing myself a nap since last night certainly did not qualify as sleep. Lots of tossing and turning, night sweats, y’know, all the good stuff.

And I’m also going to sit here and give thanks – that I do have such a strong body that has kept me healthy and active and fit for so long.  I’m downright blessed. So many of you have battled illness (serious illness) and injuries over the years – a little flu is nothing in comparison, I mean really. I have no right to complain in the grand scheme of things.

Sure – I was *really* hoping for a killer workout week just before we head off to Jamaica on Saturday, but y’know what? I’m coming to peace with the fact that I may not get to work out for a couple of days this week and I have to be ok with that. I’m not going to look any less fit or strong on the beach if that “last chance workout week” turns into a “last chance workout (or two)” instead. Life happens, right? And let’s be honest – how much worse would it be if I were still sick come Saturday and Jamaica? Um, no thanks.

So anyway, I’m off to disconnect – I snuck this blog post in while Scott was in the other room – he’d call the fact that I’m blogging while sick a “bad patient” move so let’s keep this between you and me, ok?

14 thoughts on “Notsicknotsicknotsick…Sick.

  1. I had you down as a bad patient. I bet you hate being coddled, eh 😉 I think sometimes though getting sick can be a good thing for our relationship with our body. It reminds us that it’s not a question of us mastering it and making it our bitch; it’s a partnership. Your body has told you to hold up, and you’ve got no choice. So let it be in charge for once. Well, it and Scott together 😉

    I hope you feel better in the coming days xx

  2. oh you poor thing! Now I really want to come take care of you. I hate it when all that travel and lack of sleep catches up to us. don’t worry, I won’t tell scott that you wrote this.
    😉

  3. aww! I hate that you are sick!! I wanted to do some work outs together this week…buuut I guess that means I’ll just have to do that with you in JAMAICA!! WHEE! 🙂 <-that was my workout week can wait pep talk. Did it work?

    I am glad you are taking it easy. I told M this morning that being sick is the ONE TIME we allow ourselves to slow down and just stop. You probably just need this. And you are right, your body is strong to keep you healthy for so long!! That is awesome sis. I am giving thanks for not yet getting sick from my thousands and thousands of miles of travel. Hopefully it continues 🙂

  4. i’m sure it took a lot to just stop fighting and admit it. being sick sucks so bad. i hope you feel better soon and coldbusters from jamba juice always make me feel better. i don’t know if they actually work, but i always feel better drinking them when i’m sick. rest up and get well in time for your jamaica trip!

  5. Ugh. Just ugh. Girl, I am SO sorry you are sick….especially the week before you leave for vacay. BUT at least it’s happening now, and not next week….right??? I know your awesome hubs is taking good care of you – get some rest and feel better!

  6. Pingback: A few things the flu has taught me « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  7. Pingback: I’m baaack! « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  8. Pingback: Ya, mon « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  9. Pingback: Guest Post: Diary of a Spin Class « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  10. Pingback: Guest Post: Diary of a Spin Class « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

