Let’s recap, shall we?

Let’s recap the week, shall we?

…I kicked the sickies to the curb.

…I started a new weight rotation, created by the one and only me. And I’m loving it. So much more than I thought.

…I finally got to run after three weeks sidelined.

…I stuck to my Core Fusion committment, including yoga.

…and I have major, major DOMS going on today, which I love. Feeling wicked alive today. 🙂

But guess what? I realized, sort of by accident, that I took two rest days today. Wednesday was my original rest day – mostly because my husband surprised me with an invite to an impromptu date night. Much needed. And I happily accepted. But also – today I awoke at 5:20 ready to hit up Ride for the first time in weeks, but as soon as I moved, I knew it wasn’t happening. Holy DOMS. My legs, particularly the front of my quads and calves are super-duper sore. Thank you leg workout from last night! And my upper body, biceps particularly, are STILL sore from workouts I completed days ago.

And I felt zero guilt upon resetting my alarm clock and snuggling back down next to my now-sick husband (woops, I guess I shared my germs with him. Boo).

Zero guilt after skipping a workout? That is so not me. At least it’s not the “me” from before. Like I said recently, I’ve suddenly turned a corner and have learned to let go and enjoy my workouts for me. No schedules. No numbers. Nada. In fact, because I’ve learned not to be tied to a workout schedule so much (goodbye workout manager!), I nearly forgot that Wednesday was my rest day when I got up the second time this morning to get ready for work. Score one for me? I’ll take it. 🙂

Also, in other news – wanted to give you an update on last night’s weight workout. It was awesome, but I did make some modifications. In the spirit of full disclosure, this is how it turned out (hehe):

Legs set #1: Lunges, body-weight only. 3 sets @25 reps per leg. 30-45 sec rest between sets <—this turned into 20 reps per leg

Legs set #2: Squats with a barbell. 3 sets @ 20-25 reps per set, 25lbs. 30-45 sec rest between sets <—this turned into 25-30 reps per leg, I probably could have gone heavier. Note to self for next week.

Legs set #3: Plie squats with one weight. 3 sets @ 25 reps per set, 30 lbs. 30-45 sec rest between sets

Legs set #4: Calf raises with two weights. 3 sets @25 reps per set, 15 lbs in each hand. 30-45 sec rest between sets.

Shoulders superset #1: Front raises (12.5 lbs) followed by overhead press with the barbell (20 lbs); 3 sets @15-20 reps, 30 sec rest between sets. <—front raises were done at 10 lbs each, was I on crack when I jotted that number down? Those are hard when you go high reps!

Shoulders superset #2: Overhead presses with dumbells (12.5 lbs), arms rotated forward followed by rear delt flyes (10 lbs); 3 sets @15-20 reps, 30 sec rest between sets.

Shoulders superset #3: Side lateral raises (10 lbs) followed by upright row with the barbell (20 lbs); 3 sets @15-20 reps, 30 sec rest between sets. <—by this point I was pooped, I skipped the third set of these

See? I’m nothing if not an honest fitblogger, huh?? Happy Friday, ya’ll!

12 thoughts on “Let’s recap, shall we?

  1. You’ve had a great week in fitness! Seriously rocking it. And I love that you’re enjoying your workouts more and not feeling the dreaded obligation. I’m experiencing the same thing lately and trying new classes, a lot more yoga and a little bit of running. It makes me happy. I hope you have a FAB weekend!

    • I totally am enjoying them, and enjoying rest too which is a new feeling for me. It’s so satisfying to FINALLY get past the guilt. It’s not worth it! Happy weekend to you! So far, so good 🙂

  2. Wowza, no wonder your legs were sore after that! I find that working in the higher rep range with lower weights actually makes me a LOT more sore in the following days that heavy strength work. I think it’s the lactic acid, in part, which I don’t really get with strength workouts (unless my trainer decides to burn the muscles out at the end!)

    And yaay to date night and to 2 rest days no guilt! I think after the few weeks that you’ve had, it’s good to give your body *and* you mind time to recoup after workouts, especially so as these are new and so have that “WTF!?” factor too 😀

    • Totally – the endurance style workouts always leave me with such DOMS and I know it’s lactic acide build-up related, for sure. But somehow I still love the DOMS factor, makes me feel so alive, and like I worked really hard. My body is just talking back to me, is all. I like it. 🙂

  3. i have been so behind on blogging all week, so i’m glad you wrote this recap post! i am taking my second rest day this week too and i don’t feel guilty either. look at us, i’d say it’s progress!

  4. Pingback: Run dates and trisets, love! « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

