And this is why I love blogging.

And this is why I love blogging. Your comments on my last post were nothing short of amazing. Full of great tips, great ideas, but most of all – lots of support (for me AND my sis).

One of my faves came from Becky over at BeckontheRun.

 16 Becky April 11, 2011 at 7:15 am

Always the planner! You have a great week ahead. I’m sure you (and your sis!) will find your running groove again soon. I got sick last fall and it took a full three weeks to feel normal when running. When I’m in a slump, I try not to put any pressure on the run. No specific time or distance. I also make lots of plans to run with other people. They often help me forget that I’m feeling sluggish and I end up having a great time running and chatting. Running, like any good relationship, is cyclical. There are lots of highs and lows, but once a runner, always a runner!

My favorite part of Becky’s comment? Her point about just running without putting any pressure on myself for that particular run. Even though I think I’ve done a good job at letting it go, avoiding numbers, planning, etc., now that I’ve recognized that I need to get my run-durance back, I’m starting to overthink (shocking, right?).

Case in point – this morning’s run. Here’s a running tally of some of the thoughts that crossed my mind:

“Ah, the sounds of the birds chirping and the cool air feels so nice on my skin…but wait, why I am not enjoying it. Why am I thinking at all right now…I should be letting go.”

“Hm, why does this feel so hard…am I just out of shape and kidding myself into thinking otherwise??”

“Oof, that was a tough hill…uh oh, I better not get a side cramp…”

“5k is all I got today? When will this feel like a ‘warm-up’ run again…sigh.”

“Man I just want to stop. Hm, I wonder if doing all those intervals this winter has gotten me out of the practice of steady state running…could that be my problem?”

And the list goes on and on and on and ON.

Seriously, can someone point me to the “off” switch in my brain??

All kidding aside though, this morning’s run was better than yesterday’s but it was still not a great run. Definitely not runner’s high worthy. And I totally blame my brain and it’s inability (suddenly) to turn off and just run, letting my mind wander in a good way vs. in the way I described above.

But back to Becky’s comment. She tends to comment on my blog in the morning and I just so happened to read her comment at just the right time…while I was mentally beating myself up for not letting go and just enjoying the run fully this morning. Because she’s right.

I DO need to get back to running just to run.
No pressure. No overthinking.

And I think Thursday’s run date ought to do the trick. Chatting with my sis and one of my favorite friends should certainly take the pressure off (and the focus off) the run itself. That’s the plan, anyway. 😉

14 thoughts on “And this is why I love blogging.

  1. I think we all go through spells when running is either easier or harder and for all sorts of reasons. Trust me, I’m the queen of not being able to shut the brain off. And it’s worse when that’s what you’re thinking about too!

    • I know, you’re right. I don’t know why I’m so frustrated this time…I think because I haven’t struggled with running in so long so to be faced with it is driving me nuts. But you’re right – it’ll happen, and I *will* learn how to shut the brain down a little bit better, I hope anyway 😉

  2. What went through your mind is EXACTLY what goes through mine. I hate it. But I know a lot of it is mental and I need to find a way out of it. We both can do it together. I know it.

    • See? So I do know how you feel sis, and all this time you thought I was making that sh*t up, huh 😉 But it happened to me today, big-time. I think I’m just psyching myself out at this point and it needs to stop. We are both MORE than capable of running well and running joyfully again. We have to find a way to manage these overthinking brains of ours, I think.

  3. I think it’s great that you’re aware of your thoughts and actively trying to flip the switch to enjoy running. Now that I’m not training for anything, I find that I enjoy just going out for a run, whereas before I knew I needed to run X amount of miles and started getting competitive with myself about times. I hope your run date Thursday is great for you and your sister, too!

    • Funny enough, I didn’t go through that when I trained for a half last summer/fall. I really did enjoy the training and it gave me confidence that I could run the half by the end of it. So I have no idea why, now that my running is less structured, that I’m grappling with an overactive mind and a body that seems to not want to run. Maybe I am just freaking myself out needlessly and this truly is mostly due to being sick before?? Hmm.

    • VERY good point my friend – it is about staying fit and healthy above all else. Not being competitive, not trying to beat a number (there is a time and a place for that, I realize), but just doing it for you.

  4. Jess, you are too sweet! Thank you for the shout out! I’m so glad that my comment helped. This community truly is special and supportive. I think you’ll really enjoy your Thursday run! And we NEED to plan a run date!

    • Right back atcha, girlfriend! I am dying to find my running joy again and am using you as an example because you have very clearly found the joy of running and instead of feeling anxious about it (long distances, or whatever), you just get out there and make the most of it. I want to get back to that feeling. It’s irreplacable, I’ve found.

      PS. Yes, let’s trade emails on run date scheduling!

  5. Great post, I totally agree with the overthinking part, sometimes I think I overthink, it ruins my momentum and the flow of what I’m doing. It’s the process of doing rather than the end destination that really counts.

    • It’s so easy to get trapped in “Overthinking Ollie” mode – but I guess recognizing that you tend to overthink is the first step towards learning NOT to do that all the time, right??

Leave a Reply

