Two (good) things Tuesday

There sure is something to be said for positive thinking. My all GOOD post from yesterday on how I envisioned this week panning out is paying off so far.

So today’s post is all about two (good) things Tuesday. 

First up? My run this morning. It was as close to runner’s high as I’ve gotten in months. I won’t classify it as a top ten run but it was definitely my best longer (of late) run for me. It was *only* about 4.5 miles but it was a run where the miles didn’t hurt. The brain didn’t throw me into panic-I-hate-this mode.  It was hard. And that felt good.

It reminded me of something my husband always tells me (and clearly I must have forgotten this fact) – if you’re doing it right, running should always be a challenge. It should never feel “easy” or “effortless.”  Sure – some days you might feel like you could run forever. Those are rare days in the world of running. And I think part of my problem is that I forgot that fact. In all my haste to get back to runner’s high again, I guess I sort of idealized running in my head a little bit.

Because the fact of the matter isI run because it IS hard. It IS challenging. And it makes me feel alive.
Bottom line. 

So, I’m feeling good and confident again that I am still indeed very much a runner. A runner that lost her way for a little bit, but a runner through and through. And that feels damn good.

What else is making me feel good? The fact that my sis and I discovered an awesome alternative to trekking into the city for Core FusionBarre N9NE is a studio near both of us that we tried for the first time last night (thank you Gilt Boston!). And it was SUCH fun, a great workout, and pretty similar to the barre-style that Core Fusion is known so well for. The one piece I’ll admit that was slightly amiss for me was the body-mind connection/inspiration piece that Core Fusion teachers at Exhale are known for. I really dig that part of the class – the guidance to look inward, to dig deep, to focus on connecting your breathing with your movements.

But honestly? Aside from that, I loved the class – and that it does give me an alternative to Boston which means I’m more likely to stick with barre-style sessions consistently, something I fully believe I need to continue to do to build a strong core, and long, lean muscles. But let me be clear, that doesn’t mean I am not still fully committed to Core Fusion and Exhale. They will always hold “first place” in my heart. I just can’t help it. 😉

Two (good) things Tuesday – running, running, running, and a local Core Fusion alternative. Wee! 
What’s on your good list for today?? 

26 thoughts on “Two (good) things Tuesday

  1. yaaay! i love it when a run turns out so good! great way to start the day!

    btw – i’m going to be in nyc next week and am going to see if i drop in for a core fusion class! i need to see what its all about!

    • It was an awesome feeling – especially since when I first woke up, I was like NO WAY am I getting up. But once I was up and in that fresh air? I was in heaven! It was the absolute BEST start to my day today.

      SO COOL that you are finally trying CF!! I wish you were coming to Boston so we could experience it together!!

  2. Love that you had a great run! Also love what your husband said about running. There are runs that are easier than other runs, but no runs are ever really EASY. Your body is doing something pretty awesome when you’re running. My good list is hoping that my laptop’s illness passes quickly (Dr. Billy is planning to do further scanning, etc while I’m at work), and I’m going to attempt yoga and see how my shoulder feels, and I’m going to have a great shift at work!

    • This is true – our bodies are doing something really damn awesome by running…it’s soooo easy to forget that, though, isn’t it? I’m glad I was reminded of it this morning…yay for running realizations!

      Good luck on conquering that “good” list of yours my friend!

  3. I know exactly what you mean about idealizing running in your head before you get back to it. I’m learning that now. I’ve learned a lot about running, and now having the opportunity to hit the pavement again, it’s tough going. But I’m rediscovering how much I like the challenge and being able to get out of my head a bit.

    Also on my good list: I went shopping for groceries yesterday, so there are actually options in my refrigerator. 🙂 I found a great place to run. My hip is on the mend. My awesome boyfriend has been checking in on me and taking care of me. I’ve laughed a lot. I’m alive and able to move and do things for myself.

  4. Ooh, love that you found an alternative to exhale! Convenience is definitely key. Great points about running too. Some days it is SO hard and I feel like it will never get easy. It’s not supposed to be easy!

    On my good list for today is I tried Core Fusion Express for the first time this morning. It’s Core Fusion condensed into 45 minutes before work and I am beating myself up for not doing it sooner. I will take this every morning they have it (Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays). I’m so happy!

    And now my after-work is clear. If it is nice out, I can go for a run and if it’s not, I can lay on the couch in my jammies.

    • I know – I’m really excited for an alternative…even though it’s not the “real” deal ala Core Fusion, it’s an excellent option! Clearly I’m spoiled by Core Fusion in a big way!!

      WHAT is Core Fusion Express and how have I never heard of it before you mentioned?!?!

      • I am wondering if they only have it here in Chicago. Core Fusion Express is basically a trimmed-down version (45 minutes). I’ve only been once but from what I can tell so far – arms are a little shorter, only 2 sets of thighs, and one set of curl. I’m going again tomorrow so I’ll see if it’s the same format.

  5. I am glad you had a good run, and none of this ‘only’ 4.5 miles. that’s great sis! you would tell me the same thing. I am glad we went to Barre N9ne. It was a great class! The core ‘curl’ work at CF is second to none, though, but I did feel a good burn anyway, and throughout the class. Yay for a closer alternative!

    • I know…I guess I was just getting so anxious to getting back to “half marathon” form that I forgot that running should always be a challenge. Duh. This run reminded me of that…in a good way though.

      I agree – as much as I hate to say it, I do miss the curl from CF! But LOVE the alternative to CF with Barre N9NE, strong abs here we come!

    • Mostly all barre work – for the glutes and calves, etc. The first part of the class is all upper body with pushups and planks and light handweight work, followed by barre work for glutes/calves/etc. and finished with core work and stretching. Very good, the hour FLEW by, too!

  6. We don’t have Core Fusion Express here either!

    SO glad you liked the Core Fusion alternative — any barre class is better than none! I agree that nothing matches the mind-body and inspirational aspect of CF, but at least you’ll get a pretty good workout!

  7. There is nothing as good as a run that feels effortless mile after mile… They come few and far between, for me anyway, but when they do happen, they are wonderful!

    cheers

  8. Really glad you had a good run where your head played nice with your feet! I’m afraid I don’t have much to list that’s good at the moment as I’m still pretty much bed-bound, but I did enjoy my lunch. That’s gotta be good!

  9. Pingback: What I worked Wednesday (and Mon, and Tues, and…) « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  10. Pingback: What I worked Wednesday (and Mon, and Tues, and…) « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  11. Pingback: *Warning* Fitgeek moment « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

