8 miles – done!

8 miles – done!

…wait, 8 miles? Wasn’t today supposed to be a rest day? 

Well yes, but we had to make a little modification to our training plan this week so my husband (and training partner!) could attend to some family business on Saturday. So being the good wifey that I am, I agreed to move our 8-mile training run to this morning.

…even though yesterday’s workouts (if you’re keeping track, 5 miles in the AM plus two barre n9ne classes at night, oy) left me SO tired last night, I wasn’t sure how I’d feel this morning. But I kind of liked the idea of having a Saturday rest day. Haven’t had one of those in eons.

And guess what? I felt nothing short of awesome on our run today. I have no idea what it was – the route we chose, the fact that I slept like a log last night, the allure of having a Saturday rest day. Or maybe that my body is adjusting to the increased mileage better than I thought, and a lot better than the last training cycle. Whatever it was, I’ll take it.

Our route was gorgeous – it took us through some new neighborhoods near our house and over a portion of our familiar 5.5 miler we frequent quite often (that takes us past a golf course and over a wooden bridge over the ocean, awesome sea breeze). I think the fact that the route felt familiar, albeit longer, tricked my mind into thinking this was a much shorter run. And I’ll take it because I can’t really remember the last time a run felt this good – the entire time too.  Today’s run absolutely gave me the confidence I need to continue to build upon for the upcoming half. I love it.

So yeah, I’m riding a ridiculous 8-mile high this morning that will most definitely take me right through what is expected to be a gorgeous July 4th weekend. I guess you could say I “owned” those 8 miles today. And you know what?  I kinda like the sounds of that. 😉

With that, I hope you all have a wonderful, restful, super-fun, super-gorgeous July 4th weekend. I heart summer, like whoa. (((summer)))

17 thoughts on “8 miles – done!

    • Hehe, well, what she also didn’t remind everyone was that this is the SECOND rest day of the week, as we are both trying to accommodate for a few heavier workout days (like yesterday!).

  1. Yay! So glad it was awesome sis. Wish I ventured out too, as planned, but I listened to my body and tomorrow’s 7 miler will be good. I am determined!!

  2. good job my friend! 8 miles is a solid distance! i used to take rest days on fridays but lately they’ve been on saturdays and i agree, it is so nice for a change to be able to sleep in and not worry about getting a run in before it gets too hot.

  3. What a way to kick off a great weekend! There’s nothing quite like the feeling of an amazing run. It’s addictive. The weekend is off to a beautiful start. Enjoy!

  4. Pingback: (((Summertime))) | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  5. Pingback: A (running) comedy of errors | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

