A (running) comedy of errors

I have a little story to tell you.

Let’s call it: “A (running) comedy of errors”

Scott and I left for our run this morning – not at the originally planned 5am, though. We originally thought we’d head out extra early to avoid the muggy air but once that alarm went off, we both knew we needed juuuust a little bit more sleep. Ironically, ten minutes later it started to pour (let’s call this a foreshadowing of what’s to come). So we slept another half hour, expecting the rain to clear out by then.

And clear out, it did. The air was cooler thanks to the rain – perfect for an 8.5-miler! We got all geared up – me with my hydration belt, watch, and patella straps, per the usual. And off we went.

Cue error #1: hydration belt fail. The last time I wore it was a couple of weeks ago and it kept slipping on me. The horror! The iFitness hydration belt that promised not to slip – and didn’t slip at ALL the first time I wore it about 6 weeks ago, was riding up, like whoa. Driving me nuts. My husband kept telling me to quit fidgeting and finally gave up and said, give ME the hydration belt. He claims my waist is “too skinny” now (man, is he trying to win husband of the year award or what??) and that’s why the belt was slipping. So – I reluctantly gave him the belt, feeling badly that he’d have to deal with the slippage. He claims that he never felt it once on his waist though, so either he’s a great liar and was taking one for the team, or it fit him better than me today for some reason.

Anyway, once the hydration belt annoyance was behind us, it was smooth sailing. Gorgeous morning, overcast, slightly muggy but nothing horrible. We made the loop back at the halfway point and I was feeling great. SO great. That is, until error #2 decided to pop up.

Side cramp. BIG time side cramp. So stubborn, wouldn’t go away no matter how much I slowed my pace and how calmly I kept my breathing. I reluctantly stopped to walk for about 30 seconds. Twice. It was still there but bearable. So, in typical Scott fashion, he murmurs “suck it up, Sally!” and off we went.  Side cramp or no side cramp, this was go-time. We only had about two miles left afterall.

And then – error #3 strikes: rain. First just a light mist. No biggie. We got this. Let’s roll. Then the drops start to get bigger and bigger until it’s a full-out downpour. Neither of us had our hats on (we’ll call that error #4) so the rain was dripping down our face. BUT – here’s the thing. I still felt great. The side cramp was gone. My legs felt really good. I wasn’t overly tired. I honestly think, had it not started to pour, I could’ve run even farther than the 8.5. That is…

…until it started to thunder. And lightening (eeeek). Cue error #5.

Thank god we were on the last half mile by this point. We hauled ass to the finish, lemme tell ya. And it felt kind of bad-ass – sprinting to the finish, rain pouring down around us, lightening flashing. Ain’t no thang if you’re a Sutera, apparently. 😉

And this, my friends is what 8.5 miles + a side cramp + a finicky hydration belt + thunder + downpours + lightening looks like:


(sorry – grainy iPhone shot)

A (running) comedy of errors – no? But in the end, it was my best training run yet. Even better than the 8-mile high from last week. Yes, even better. Talk about running nirvana. 😉

***********
BTW – just because I’ve been blogging about running an awful lot lately doesn’t mean the barre n9ne challenge is far from my mind. Because guess what?? Next week is our FINAL WEEK!!!! And it’s going to be a killer week of workouts, I’ll say that. Bring. It. On. 60-days, almost done!!

16 thoughts on “A (running) comedy of errors

    • I just don’t get it, the iFitness belt felt AWESOME the first couple of times, but the last two times it drove me nuts. I’m almost to the point of going back to waterless-running again. Hmph.

      • Mine just…I don’t know. Stopped working. If you end up at wits end, definitely try a different belt that attaches with Velcro. You’ll never go back. 🙂

  1. Love that picture. I’ve got a couple of my wet, muddy shoes as well. But I LOVE RUNNING IN THE RAIN! Is that odd? Maybe it’s a German thing. If a competition, a run or a championship starts in the rain we call it “Fritz-Walter-Weather”, according to the top scorer who made Germany win the first Soccer World Championship in 1954: Fritz Walter. Until his death he was a decent, friendly man everyone loved. And Fritz was best when it was raining cats and dogs! So the morning of the final match of the Championship in 1954 was sunny and warm – and everyone in the German team was afraid they would lose the battle as it was too warm for Fritz. But a couple of minutes before the match, a heavy rain started and Germany became Soccer World Champion. You don’t have to speak German to understand the enthusiasm about Fritz-Walter-weather when you watch this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N0avCtHStIk (or if you have 5 mins time watch this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JGOOSVEs-8g&NR=1)
    BTW: Fritz is the guy with the number 16.
    I hope you don’t mind that I took you with me on my little ride through German sports history 😉 Have a wonderful weekend. Julia

  2. Haha! I LOVE this sis! The pic is a riot too, giddy faces 🙂 You totally got ‘er done!! The belt slipped on me one run, but other than that, has been good (and what a guy, great compliment sis!). Sad last week for the challenge is coming!!

  3. Adorable picture, what a couple of rock stars! And of COURSE your waist is skinny! All that time at the barre will do that for you! Love this post!

  4. I love your runs together! Oh no on all the issues but i totally thing he is right about the belt! You r kickin ass missy! Also side cramp, try changing your breathing or lifting your arm up in the air and side bend

  5. I feel like the way that you feel after runs like that make it worth it, you know?

    Has Scott always been a runner? I’d love to get Jason to run with me but he insists that he’s not built to run, whatever that means.

  6. Pingback: Can’t. Stop. Sweating. | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  7. Pingback: Cloudy with a chance of meatballs (?) | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

