The 7 links project

Many of you have probably heard of this fun little project making its way across the Internet – called “7 links.” I’ve loved reading all of your posts on the “7 links” – especially for some of my newer blog friends, it’s been a great way to get to know you all better!

Anyway, two of my oldest and dearest blog friends – the one and only Tina from Faith Fitness and Fun, tagged me; and Alicia from Poise in Parma tagged me for this fun little “7 links” project.  And once my newer blog friend (and also fabulous), Tracy at Commit to Fit tagged me, I knew it was time to get down to business. 😉

7 links – how it works: 

The goal…
To unite bloggers (from all sectors) in a joint endeavor to share lessons learned and create a bank of long but not forgotten blog posts that deserve to see the light of day again.

The rules…
1)  Blogger is nominated to take part
2)  Blogger publishes his/her 7 links on his/her blog – 1 link for each category.
3) Blogger then nominates 5 others to participate
This shouldn’t take you long to do – don’t over-think it! <—me, overthink? never!

MOST BEAUTIFUL POST…
I knew immediately which post I’d list here – my post on celebrating our most fabulous selves: Celebrate YOU.

Ironically, this post was inspired by Tina so it’s kind of fitting that it made it’s way into my 7 links post that Tina tagged me “it” in!

MOST POPULAR post
My sister will love this – she’s a blogger superstar and one of the main reasons I started my own blog months and months after she jumped into the blogosphere over two years ago. She guest blogged for me way back when we were doing our self-professed Core Fusion challenge. Her post, “Is that definition I see” was a huge traffic driver – I guess it’s all her bloggy friends coming to visit her that did it. 😉

Also kind of prolific considering just three months later we found ourselves immersed in the barre n9ne 60-day challenge – this post is sort of where the whole love of barre-style workouts started, interestingly enough. So thanks sis, for being the most popular post in the history of EatDrinkBreatheSweat. Shall I make you a trophy?? 😉

MOST CONTROVERSIAL post
While I don’t view myself as a very controversial blogger, I think the post I had trouble writing was “Coupla foodie changes” because it was at that point that I was afraid that committing to a food log after years of avoiding numbers in any shape or form, would throw me into a tailspin. I felt sort of like a hypocrite in a way, as odd as it sounds. But once I got it out on the table and realized that the food log would become an invaluable learning tool for me – one that did NOT make me return to my obsessive roots – that I felt much better about the whole thing.

MOST HELPFUL post…
My series on weight training seemed to be the one that generated the most interest and questions for follow-on posts. So I guess this isn’t really a single post, but a group of posts on the topic: Weight Training Faves.  I’m really happy with how it turned out, so much so that it’s now a separate page at the top of my blog. 🙂

SURPRISINGLY SUCCESSFUL post...
I’m always surprised when one of my really random posts that spring to mind during my morning commute turns into a really well-received post. I’d call my “Have you ever wondered?” post one of the most surprisingly successful posts. I am basing this mainly on the reaction I got from all of you in what I had to say – which at the time, seemed like such a random combination of thoughts that I had no idea what the reaction would be. I love being surprised by that!

NOT ENOUGH SUCCESS…
This is a weird one for me – I love my blog because it’s mine, and I write for me more than anything else. So for me to say that any of my posts weren’t “successful” enough? Seems odd. But if I look at comments or metrics, I guess the one that surprised me was one that my husband wrote for me: Along for the ride, I mean, run?? I loved the post, it was so cute and heartfelt, but didn’t get as much reaction as I thought. I guess I’m just a mushy  one at heart, and I guess it really only matters that I loved it since he wrote it for me, right?? 😉

POST I’M MOST PROUD OF…
This is a tie – a three-way tie if you will. Between crossing the finish line of my first half, to starting and completing the 60-day barre n9ne challenge and becoming friends with the mirror? I just couldn’t choose.

Here they are – my (three) most proud:
Veni, Vidi, Vici – 13.1 done
 Transformed.
The Mirror. 

Well! That was actually a LOT of fun to do. It gave me a reason to dig back through old posts – and now all I want to do is keep on digging through old posts – especially since I just realized I’m inching towards my 500th post! How crazy will that be, huh??

Anyway, since I had such fun with it and totally didn’t overthink it like I thought I would…I’m tagging a few other bloggers to give it a shot:
Naomi @ The Tao of Me
Dorry @ Living with Healthy Hunger
Heather @Mile26andMore
Melissa @ Live, Love and Run
Rachel @Healthy Chicks 

12 thoughts on “The 7 links project

    • Totally loving this project that’s making it’s way around the ‘net – so fun to learn more about new blog friends and to revisit some of my favorite long-time blog friends’ old posts. Like a walk down memory lane 🙂

  1. I love your links! These are all awesome. I loved Scott’s guest post, but sometimes I think guest posts aren’t always read because they are just that – guest posts. Depends though…considering my post was one of your most successful ;-P I’ll take my prize in a trophy, yes, thankyouverymuch.
    (no, I’m not kidding. Okay, maybe I am, but how about a little page for me on your blog? okay, I’m kidding about that too!). 🙂

    • Well – it’s a good thing I wrote this post last week to publish today or else you’re guest post would no longer be the “most popular” post of all time – my “sharing the love” post surpassed you this weekend. 😉

      But I’ll still give you the trophy – we’ll have to bargain on the separate page on the blog that’s all yours though. 😉

  2. Pingback: live, love, & run: the 7 links | Live, Love, & Run

  3. Ahhh, I’ve been behind in my blog reading, but just saw that you tagged me! I’m gonna have to think about this one…and gonna try not to overthink it 😀

Leave a Reply

