Run-barre-rundate

Saturday (aka my 6-month barre n9ne-aversary) turned into a pretty fit-astic workout.

Let’s call it a run-barre-rundate, shall we? 

I figured out that the barre n9ne studio is 2.7 miles (to be exact!) from my house and mentioned to my fit friend Steph that it would be fun to run to the studio, take class, and run back after. Getting a nice 5.4 miler in with a killer barre n9ne class to break up the miles? Genius, right?

So that’s what we did on Saturday. Steph met me at my house around 7:30 to head out for part one (of three) of our workout plan. It was pretty chilly out but I was surprised that with the sun shining, it wasn’t nearly as cold as I was bracing myself for. I also dressed just right for the occasion. Running capris, tank for class, Under Armor running top and (last minute decision) a puffy vest on top of that. I was leery of the vest at first – worried it would feel bulky or would be too warm after we got started. But with the wind, the puffy vest was the perfect way to stay warm. Genius (yet again)!

We chatted along the way, mostly talking about barre n9ne (since we’re totally obsessed…yes, I still feel like I’m a cult leader when I talk about barre n9ne!!) and the short trip to class was over before I knew it. Part one, done!

Part two…um, this one stung like hell a little.  Saturday’s 8:30 class is the barre n9ne signature class – barre method, and it’s my favorite and one that always flies by. Saturday was no different – it flew by but not without lots of hard work along the way. Julianna has started adding a bunch of compound moves during the upper body work — like shoulder raises mixed with plie squats. Holy crap does that burn – especially on legs that just ran! But we got it done, with lots of shaking at the barre which I love!

Part three…the last 2.7 miles flew by even faster than the first 2.7. I joked to Steph that it was probably because I was starving and wanted to get home faster. 😉 Plus, my legs were screaming at me at this point after all that barre work and those compound moves. Man, I was never so happy to see the last lonnnng hill of our running route!

So this run-barre-rundate? I call it a total success. It was an awesome way to kick off the weekend (felt rather accomplished after all that!) and a great way to mix in running with barre, my favorite combo of all time. Plus, it was very fitting to head back to the studio where this amazing journey all began exactly six months ago to the day. And, I think we’ve started a tradition – Jo is going to come next time, and we’ve already picked a few other weekends to give this run-barre-rundate a run for its money.

Totally fit-astic! 

(and in case you’re wondering, this is my fab friend Steph – taken at my sister‘s housewarming party last weekend. Yes, random photo op I know. Trying to get better at people pictures in my posts!)

*********
In other news – I think I’m crazy. I already booked my hotel for the Chicago Marathon next October. I guess I’ve either totally lost it or I’m just *really* committed to running 26.2 in 2012!!

41 thoughts on “Run-barre-rundate

  1. Awww Jess, I love this! How fun was that on Saturday?? It’s so great to have such wonderful fit friends, where a morning like that is a real treat, instead of just trying to get through a workout. Can’t wait til next time! And it doesn’t surprise me that you’ve already booked for Chicago 😉 You and Scott will rock it!!

    • You’re totally right – it was something I looked FORWARD to vs. dreading (not that I ever dread barre n9ne workouts!!). And it didn’t even feel like work since we had such fun chatting along. Can’t wait to do it again!!!

  2. Lovely photo of you Jess, I love your pretty top. That’s going to be one of my goals to take more photos of friends and family, I have photos on my phone but just never get round to printing them and then forget about them. I want to make a large collage of photos.

    • Aw why thank you my friend! I’m with you on pics – I post them to FB and stuff all the time, but really need to spend the time printing and framing them. It’s always on my to-do list but I somehow never get around to it.

    • I totally wish we’d thought of it sooner – like MAY sooner haha. Oh well, at least now we have something fun to do this fall and something to look forward to doing more of in the spring/summer!

  3. Running to/from exhale is one of my favorite two-fers! Except I only run one way – you are so hard core!

    YES!!! I am so glad you booked your hotel already! Where are you staying???

    • Haha naw, not hardcore just stubborn 😉

      We booked Hotel 71 – it’s apparently .8 miles from the start and was way cheaper (and way cuter!) than the bigger hotels on the official hotel list…and i’m a sucker for a good boutique hotel. Hopefully its as good as it looks on paper??

      • I’ve never heard of it but OMG it is CUTE!!! That’s a great find – I am going to keep that place in mind. It’s actually just down from Darren’s office – I’ll take a peek at it the next time I am down there. And, I am with you – I prefer smaller boutique-y places to the bigger ones.

      • Isn’t it wicked cute? I’m a huge fan of boutique hotels – and this one looks awesome!! Lemme know what you think once you scout it out for me. Can’t wait to MEET YOU!!! 🙂

  4. I always say I am going to run to the gym, but I think I have only done it once. Sounds like an awesome workout.

    And I totally would have already booked that hotel too. So excited for Chicago next year!

  5. oh my goodness – so exciting about booking your hotel for Chicago! Seriously – I admire that commitment to your goal. Yay! And I have to admit, I’ve done something similar as your run barre workout except mine is just 2 miles to Pilates and 2 miles back home. It’s a nice butt-kicking and I think I ran faster on the way home, too, because I was ready for breakfast! 🙂

  6. Okay Miss, fill me in these dates, so I can perhaps join you ladies, that sounds like a PERFECT morning to me!

    You guys look beautiful! What a great picture!

    P.S. I don’t like that you’ve already booked your hotel. I FREAKIN LOVE IT (SCREAMING AT THE TOP OF MY LUNGS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)

    • Seriously -any Saturday you’re up for a run-barre-rundate, just tell me and I’ll make it happen, SERIOUSLY! You would loooooove it.

      haha I LOVE you screaming at the top of your lungs, ahhhhhh!! Excited 🙂

  7. I think the more you do to commit yourself to a race the better…at least that’s the way I see it. Considering I’ve changed my mind a few times, this would be what I’d HAVE to do. 😉

    And hi…talk about a rockstar day of workouts!!! Crazy girl. 😉 My week has been full of work, work, family issues, and more work.

    • I can’t wait to tackle this rockstar of a workout again this coming Saturday, woohoo!!

      Also – I’m sad that you’ve had some family drama to deal with – I meant what I said on twitter, ALWAYS here for you if you need a shoulder! xoxo

  8. Pingback: Rainy run-barre-rundate: #PROOF! | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

