Things I’ve learned: healthy eating edition

Things I’ve learned: healthy eating edition: 

…peanut butter is the best invention ever. In oatmeal, OMG yum, perfect protein boost. On top of a trader joe’s english muffin? Practically tastes like dessert. On an apple or banana, perfect PM snack (or anytime snack, really). On freshly roasted pineapple – legit, dessert-worthy. <—this blogger may just be eating this very dessert as she writes this post…

…pureed pumpkin mixed into a box of spiced pumpkin cake mix is an awesome in-a-pinch “quasi” muffin. Or mixed into other things – oatmeal, pancakes, and lots of other things I’m not even considering at the moment (blogger friends, educate me on all things pumpkin!).

…but sometimes…only a real, freshly-made (with real butter!) toll house chocolate chip cookie will do. Moral of this story? Sometimes you just have to eat the cookie. Preferably with a cup of tea and your two sisters by your side (wait, is that specific to me? woops…)

…fruit, in all shapes, sizes and forms, truly is nature‘s candy, and yes – I really do believe that. (I never used to, in fact – I used to scoff at anyone who said that with conviction…). Watermelon this summer was my BFF (this girl shared my obsession, oh how I miss her!). And so far this winter? Roasted pineapple (see above!) or a clementine (or two, or three…) – just. can’t. stop.

…it’s ok not to stuff yourself silly on the holidays; it’s also ok to enjoy the holiday and all the yummies that come with it, without feeling deprived. On Thanksgiving, I proved that it can be done. I chose my treat – father in law’s stuffing, OMG heavenly – and filled the rest of my plate with veggies and turkey. I even had a glass (or two!) of wine. And a lowfat dessert, thanks to my sister in law. Did I feel stuffed afterwards? Nope. Did I feel satisfied, but not deprived? You betcha.

…a healthy lifestyle is just that: a lifestyle, a forever thing. And it’s best done with friends, or sisters, or husbands. Or all three.

Things I’ve learned: healthy eating edition…healthy makes me happy. How ’bout you? Keep my list going – what would you add to this list (or remove!)?


29 thoughts on “Things I’ve learned: healthy eating edition

  1. Peanut butter is seriously one of the best inventions ever (well, that and ice cream)!!
    I’ve learned that sometimes less is more. Especially when it comes to exercise: less = less chance of injury, less = more time for your muscles to recover and repair, and less = sanity. 🙂

    • Seriously – can NOT get enough peanut butter in my life. I put it on everything!!

      I totally agree with you on the less is more mentality – it’s all about honoring that body you’ve worked hard to build into the strong one that it is today and knowing when to pull back vs. pushing full steam ahead all the time.

  2. I absolutely agree with you on PB. Almond butter is even more addicting if that’s possible LOL. I am in love with PB2 mixed with hazelnut stevia on a whole grain rice cake. I mix PB into pretty much anything as well.

    And sooo agree – it is a lifestyle. It’s not a fad diet. It’s not a quick fix. It’s a way of living. Wish more people could grasp that concept.

    • I have yet to try PB2 or “better ‘n peanut butter” – but I hear great things about both products! I guess I’m just a die-hard “traditional” PB lover at heart, hehe

      re: quick fixes – YES! healthy living is NOT something with a start and end date, it’s a lifestyle, and one I happen to adore.

  3. ROASTED PINEAPPLE?! You so know I’m trying THAT. I agree with everything else you’ve written! (Surprised much?)

    Lessons learned for me: As a runner (or any kind of fitness person) real sugar is a necessity in your diet. In moderation, of course. It took me a long time to realize that, but I’ve since cut out all artificial sugars in my diet. I can tell by how I feel and look, the artificial sugar was doing me more harm than regular sugar ever would.

    • Seriously, it is SO GOOD!! Once you take it out of the oven and put that tsp of peanut butter on top, it instantly gets all melty and YUMMY.

      I also totally and utterly AGREE with you on the fake sugars – I cut them ALL out of my diet six months ago and the difference is so obvious. I don’t miss it in my coffee, at all. I don’t miss it in all those fake soda drinks and things like that. The real deal tastes better and, I actually crave sugar less now than I ever did before. I’d rather dive headfirst into that roasted pineapple/pb concoction instead!

  4. I would also add – real food, not fake, not ‘low fat’ is best, most filling and usually the same or even less, calories than their low fat counterparts. Same goes for 2% yogurt (chobani!!) vs. 0% – more filling, more wholesome. Add nutella to the list of yummy goodness in moderation…and dove promises, of course.

    • YES! I totally should have added that into this list – nothing tastes better than that chobani 2% yogurt, especially when you compare it to those light and fit yogurts that taste nothing like real fruit and everything like the chemicals that are poured into those things.

      HUGE fan of a really good piece of chocolate – those dove chocolates or a square of that Trader Joe’s dark chocolate salted caramel bars! ❤

  5. Peanut butter is like crack. I will always and forever be an addict. I’m Rick James, B***, gimme some dat Peanut Butter!!!

    Great post.

    I would add: Almond Butter (healthier than our friend PB but equally as delicious and can be used in all the same nooks and crannies), roasted squash – all varieties (YUM!), and, my new favorite:

    Protein Pancakes: 1tb coconut flour, 1-2 scoops sun warrior vanilla protein powder, 1/4 tsp baking powder, 2 eggs, 1/4 c almond milk, dash of vanilla, dash of cinnamon. Mix wets and dries seperately then combine. Stir together until a pancake battery consistency emerges. Add more almond milk if needed. Cook like a pancake! Top with some almond butter and melted frozen berries (warmed in microwave). DELICIOUS, NUTRITIOUS and PACKED WITH PROTEIN!

    What else….BERRIES! And, eggs. I am in love with eggs. Um…last thing: legumes. Can’t get enough legumes.

    As for your mentality toward healthy eating – AMEN, Sister! I couldn’t agree with you more. It’s a life-style. Every day needn’t be the same…but if it is, that’s OK. Just like life.

    • PB and Almond Butter are equally cracktastic, aren’t they?? Also a huge fan of roasted squash (butternut, acorn, spaghetti are current faves). MMMMM.

      THANK YOU for this protein pancake recipe, I am totally buying the ingredients for it to make next time I hit the store (I don’t use coconut flour very often). Sounds SO GOOD!! Huge fan of protein packed breakfasts 🙂

    • exactly – as my friend Tanya likes to say, a healthy lifestyle isn’t a “diet” – who wants to be on a “diet” anyway, it has the word “die” in it, how painful does that sound?? 😉

  6. PB is the best stuff on earth, couldn’t agree with you more!!! LOVE the idea of PB with grilled pinapple…hmmm…that may be tonight’s dessert! YUM!

    Coffee with Soy Milk…I was a splenda addict for years and cut it out of my diet about 2 years ago…coffee actually tastes like coffee now.

    Ground turkey – LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it!!! With lots of yummy spices I can’t even tell the difference.

    Ok, not so healthy, but I would add swedish fish. I’m in love with them…they are my treat to myself during training. Hardwork = reward. And I’m not afraid to admit that sometimes my reward is a litte junk food 🙂

    • Let me know what you think of the pineapple! SO GOOD!

      Totally with on the coffee WITHOUT splenda – tastes much richer and more um, coffee-like huh? What a novel idea! 🙂

      PS. My husband LOVES swedish fish…and Haribo gummy bears (must be that brand, don’t ask…) and I won’t lie – they are tasty from time to time!!

  7. I think I go through about a jar of peanut butter a week! I love it. I’ve learnt in the past few months that if I eat well, my body feels more energised and healthier. I’ve set myself a goal of making home cooked meals for myself most days of the week. I love Martha Stewart’s everyday food magazine, simple but tasty recipes. I have her Entertaining book on my Christmas wishlist.

    • Totally – that’s the best part, eating good, real, whole, YUMMY foods and feeling better and more energetic and fit is an awesome feeling, isn’t it?

      Love your goal of doing more home cooked meals, you’ll have to share some of your fave recipes!

  8. Eating pb on oatmeal as I type this (random afternoon snack – usually I reserve it for breakfast 😉 ) – it’s my FAVE.

    Nature candy, couldn’t agree more! Perfectly sweet, juicy & healthy to boot.

    • Hey – nothing wrong with some oatmeal in the middle of the afternoon – or even at night as “savory” oats. Definitely thinking of that for dinner tomorrow. Mouth is watering just thinking about it!

  9. I think you did a great job with this list! I’ve swapped out my beloved PB for almond butter lately and can’t wait to start eating PB again (the more you eat of it during the 3rd tri, the more risk your baby has for peanut allergies). I also think fruit is one of the best things ever. I had the most juicy and sweet pineapple the otherday and it honestly tasted like candy to me! So good!

    • Well thank GOD you can have almond butter is all I can say – I’d probably cry if I couldn’t have some sort of nut butter while pregant, haha!

      The pineapple I had last night was perfectly ripe and got even more juicy after I roasted it. MMMM so good.

  10. Yes, and yes and yes….I agree with all of your tips!
    Including the not getting stuffed, but still enjoying! I may have had the exact same method on thanksgiving (including the two glasses of wine…).
    I make sure to eat a snack before I’m starving…then I’m way more rational when it’s time to eat for real!

    • Ohhh good one – not waiting until you’re DYING of hunger to eat something. Nothing worse than getting the shakes and then eating whatever you can get your hands on the fastest! Plus, that shaky, I’m-so-hungry-I’m-gonna-die feeling is NOT fun. Blech.

Leave a Reply

