How to make a lasting first impression

How to make a lasting first impression – on your first day at your fancy schmancy new gig:

  • Beat your boss to the office on the first day. Awesome.
  • Settle right in with the marketing team, *almost* without skipping a beat. Awesome.
  • Get into a card accident en route to dinner with your boss that night. Not. Awesome.

Oof.

Let’s just say that wasn’t the “big bang” I was aiming for on my first day — but it sure *did* leave a lasting first impression, I’ll say that.

Thankfully, I was not injured – nor was the woman that I rear-ended (cringe). And now that two days has passed, I’m pleased that I haven’t had any neck or back pain, despite the 40+ mph I was going when I smashed into the car in front of me. And sure, my car is probably totaled (UGH – will know for sure on Thursday when they appraise it), what’s more important to me is that I’m alive, uninjured – and aside from freaking the sh*t out of my husband and sisters (and boss!) that night – life will go on.

And, it’s made for quite the icebreaker in conversations with new colleagues. πŸ˜‰

Aside from that, though – what this week (so far) has taught me? I needed this.
…the un-routine (that I’m already experiencing).
…the uncomfortable moments where it’s up to me to “fake it until I make it.”
…tThe “new beginnings” that this year promises to offer me at every turn of the corner.

I know that next week when I travel to Cali to meet the rest of my coworkers will be another challenge in and of itself. But I’m feeling so ready for it. Even if that means getting creative with my workouts (and maybe trying something new, workout-wise, while I’m out thereΒ – more on that later!). Finding a way to maintain my semblance of balance food-wise, especially with lots of after work socializing happening. And yes, even if that means being away from Scott for four days. I can do this. We can do this.

Because hell, if I can get through my first week, car accident and all, and still be smiling? Next week ain’t got nothing on me. πŸ˜‰

*********

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’ll be off to find a semblance of routine with my long-awaited return to barre n9ne for my favorite double of the week tonight, followed by a killer sweatfest tomorrow morning, run-style. (Oh how I heart sweat!)

OH – and before I forget – can I just say how incredibly AMAZED I am by all of your awesome comments on my post yesterday?? I promise to respond to each of them as soon as I can. You guys are awesome!!

31 thoughts on “How to make a lasting first impression

  1. Thank godness you are OK. Change is always so hard, but so rewarding, you’ll find out things about yourself with every trip and experience. And it’s always so hard to say goodbye to the hubs, but I LOVE coming home after a few days away…it’s so sweet!

    • I know – that’s the one thing I am totally looking forward to next week – the big huge welcome home hug and kiss from the hubs. That’s what’ll get me through the week – thinking about my husbands smiling face waiting for me at the airport πŸ™‚ ❀

  2. Yikes! So glad you are ok (and seemingly in good humor about it)! Definitely not something you had imagined for your first day, I’m sure. I’m glad your job is going well and look forward to hearing more about it. I’m sure you’ll figure out what works for you for travelling.

    • All I can do is laugh at this point, right? What doesn’t kill us makes us stronger??
      Either way, the job part of this week has been awesome. LOVE LOVE LOVE it and am so glad I made the move. Absolutely the best decision ever.

    • Quite a “bang” I’ll say that. But all good – just got the call from the insurance company, car is NOT totaled which is awesome. Though even if it was totaled, I wouldn’t care just as long as nobody was injured in the end. Phew.

      And yes, job is awesome so far and commute will be awesome (on the one day a week I go into the office!) in comparison to the old commute. Woohoo!

  3. Aw Man! An accident:-( Bummer!
    The important thing is that you are ok (THANK YOU JESUS!) and you are right, it is an icebreaker;-)
    Hope that your car makes or that you can get some return on it.

    I am so glad that you are starting this new chapter and I believe that great things are instore for you friend. Very excited to read all about it!

    • Thank you Jesus, is right! Gave me (and the hubs, and my sis) a huge scare but thankfully all good now.

      And thank you for being so excited for me, you are the best. I sense great things on the horizon for you too – sending prayers to that effect your way as well. xoxo

  4. I’m so glad you’re ok! I had a mini freak out when I saw you mention the accident on Twitter.
    Have a great rest of the week – and enjoy your sweatfest! I’m sure you need it after the past few days…… πŸ™‚

    • Aw! I’m sorry I scared you!! It WAS scary at the time, I’m just so so so glad it’s behind me now.

      And yes, the sweatfest last night and this AM? AWESOME. Just what I needed!!!!

  5. Well, I’m glad you’re ok and impressed that you’re handling all this change (and the accident!) with a smile on your face πŸ™‚
    You’re right—you will get through all of the “new” –isn’t it great when you can keep perspective on it and roll with the punches? (not that it means it’s easy or anything!)

    • Ha, I give a ton of credit to my husband for helping me to see the positive in things lately, he is so good at spinning things around for me, his perspective is huge. So he rubs off on me in a good way πŸ™‚

  6. agh! sorry about the car accident – of course, like everyone else, I’m glad everyone is OK! I can commiserate with you here, my friend. I got in a similar wreck Sunday night. It’s NO fun, but I haven’t let it get me down as much as I would in the past. Just looking forward. πŸ™‚ Cheers to the weekend tomorrow and end of your 1st week at the new job! xo

    • Oh NO! You got in a wreck too?? Crazy scary! So glad you’re ok friend!!

      Cheers to the weekend is right, I fully plan to live the sh*t out of it before heading to Cali for work next week πŸ™‚

  7. Pingback: Traveling – the fit and healthy edition | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  8. Pingback: Mind games | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

