Getting (or trying to get) limber

Not a shock Confession: I am not flexible.

Running basically undoes any effort I put into gaining flexibility. This much I know.

But until recently – I didn’t put much effort, if any, into stretching. At.All.

Bad, bad fitblogger. Bad.

I know better. That’s the thing.

However: I now consider myself a changed woman. In the last, say, 6-8 weeks, I’ve made a concerted effort to stretch. As part of or after every single workout. Even if that means getting up earlier to get my run done *and* my post-run stretching. I get a good amount of stretching from the bajillions of barre classes I do each week. And I’ve noticed a huge difference, especially in how much quicker I recover from my runs during the week. Far less sore and tight the next day, for example.

…but I need to do more on my own. As I said, running basically negates the stretching I’m doing now.

So – as they say, if you want to run faster, you have to run fast. And if you want to gain flexibility, you gotta stretch. Duh. So simple yet here I am being all “But I’m just not naturally flexible” — essentially using that as my excuse not to focus on stretching more.

But, I’m of the mindset that there are no good excuses. So I’m tossing the whole “but I’m not naturally flexible” whiny mentality out the window. And I’m gonna focus the sh*t out of my stretching from now on.

My plan? Simple really:
…Stretch after every single run. And foam roll.
Take fifteen minutes during the day (now that I work from home most of the week) and do hip opening stretches (think the “runner’s stretch for the hip flexor or my new fave, “happy baby“). My hips are so tight (why does that sound like a TWSS phrase to me??)
…Stretch soon after every barre n9ne class. As I said, we do a good amount of stretching during class (given the strengthening/lengthening mantra that makes up the barre style). But, I need to do more to counterbalance all the running I do. So after class I’ll spend 10-15 minutes at home doing additional stretching (while I’m still warm from class).

There. Simple, right?

Now – who wants to volunteer to be my stretch accountability artist? Fancy title, right? But hell, I need the added accountability in this area or I know I’ll fall back into that “I’m not naturally flexible, it’ll never happen” mentality.

(and bonus points if you feel like sharing some of your favorite stretches with me in the comments section below!)

26 thoughts on “Getting (or trying to get) limber

  1. I am the exact same way. I cannot touch my toes. I’m also bad at stretching. I got a foam roller for Christmas and I never use it. I should try this with you.

  2. I’m with you sis, I feel way better once I have stretched and get antsy when I don’t. Now that you work from home, you def can stretch more during the day! We can keep each other accountable. How’s that?

    • Clearly I need help with accountability since I have yet to stretch today and it was a barre n9ne day today too which means I was supposed to stretch more after class. FAIL!!

  3. You should try Classical Stretch or Essentrics. Some areas have Classical Stretch on PBS. You can also get DVDs. Miranda takes a little getting used to, but I find her delightful and really like her. Her daughter Sarha leads on the Essentrics DVDs. It’s a more dynamic type of stretching, and I love it! I feel great when I do this consistently.

  4. Ahhhh, stretching….I rarely do it after workouts, but I wish I would. With my clients, the “I’m not naturally flexible” thing comes up all the time. I usually get people to just add in a couple stretches, and throw in yoga classes if that is reasonable. I will admit that even with my clients, I’m not the best at stretching accountability…but I like the idea!

    • Ahh another one that struggles to always practice what they preach – so glad I’m not alone on this one. I guess we could all use a little accountability up in here, huh?

  5. Ugh, I am with you. I’m the worst at stretching. And my hips are SO TIGHT!!!! I always tell myself I’m going to stretch while watching tv at night but then I curl up under my fuzzy blanket with the pups and a cup of hot chocolate and don’t move. šŸ™‚

    • EXACTLY. My issue too. I think I’m going to start storing my yoga mat and stretch band downstairs in the living room (vs. up in my home gym) so I have NO excuse not to do it. If it’s laying right out there in front of me, I’ll have no choice but to just do it…before I cuddle under that blanket šŸ˜‰

  6. Girlfriend I am SO WITH YOU. I need this TOO.

    Tight hips, teehee, that is so a TWSS moment. Ahem, but I have the same problem.

    I have a couple really good ones that I do for the hips, but I can’t really explain. I’ll have to show you!

  7. Great plan!

    I’m super inflexible. I think it comes with the territory of being a runner. But you make good points, if you make an effort you can fit it in. I’m kinda lazy but I guess the benefits outweigh a few measly minutes a day.

    • I know, for some reason I can be VERY lazy about stretching, even though I’m not a lazy person in general. This post is keeping me accountable – I’ve already got my stretching in for today! How about you?? šŸ˜‰

  8. Oh gosh, I’m so bad with the stretching….I know I need it too. I used to be able to do the splits now my poor hips are lucky to let my ankles get three feet from each other. Congrats on making stretching such a priority. That’s a really tough challenge. Good for you!

  9. I needed to read this… Sometimes I wonder if the only stretching I do is yoga on the weekend. After running all week I cant even touch my toes!
    *going to stretch everyday this week*

  10. Pingback: So, what’s the (February) plan? | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  11. Pingback: It was a good day. | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

