So, what’s the (February) plan?

Now that the urge to vomit has subsided dust has settled a bit on the whole marathon thing, I’m ready to think about how I want to tackle my running plans for the next month or so.

Why am I thinking about *just* the next month?

Well, I’ll tell you. 😉 In a month, I’ll start training for the Providence half marathon, and once I kick the crap out of that race complete that race, I’ll have about a month before Chicago Marathon training begins (early-June).<—and yes, I already have the training plan for that worked out, I’ll share it soon! 

So this month, I want to focus on just one thing: staying strong and healthy.

I really want to go into training mode feeling my best – both physically and mentally (especially mentally). This is particularly important to me as I’m realizing just how long I’ll be in training once March rolls around:
…7 months long, give or take.

That’s going to take a lot of energy and focus and drive. Sure, I’ll give myself a break between Providence and the start of marathon training, but really – even 6 months of training is a long time. And I want to do this right. I also want to do this my way – by my own rules, plans and goals. And yes, that does involve having fun along the way, like I’ve said before.

But back to my point – my plans for February. It’s going to be a VERY busy month. For many reasons (and one BIG reason that I can’t wait to tell you guys about!!).

I’ll be visiting Heather in February. Hopefully it’ll involve some super-fun rundates (complete with post-run mimosas?). I say “hopefully” because Heather is dealing with an injury – I’m sending her good vibes like CRAZY and I’d urge you all to do the same. Let’s get her back on her running feet again, mmk?

I’ll also be really busy essentially every weekend with that BIG NEWS I can’t wait to tell you about. (yes, I’m a tease). Which will limit my ability to cram much running time in on the weekends.

And I have another work trip at the end of February to contend with. Which means craptastic early-AM runs on the hotel dreadmill. Dislike. But I’ll embrace the un-routine once again while I’m there, right, right?

So anyway, my plan for February is fairly simple:
Run when I can – aiming for four runs of mixed intensity and distance, as I have been since kicking off my winter running schedule a few months ago. I say “when I can” because I know I’ll have to pull back certain weeks (particularly that week I’m traveling for work) and I need to be ok with that. And honestly – I already am. I know I’ll get MORE than enough running in after this month is over. May as well enjoy a pull-back month of sorts, right??
Hit up as many barre n9ne classes as my body will allow – it’s making a GIANT difference in how I’m running. My glutes and hammies are the strongest they’ve ever been. Which equates to very happy knees (which is huge for me given two previous knee injuries and all…).
Stretch, stretch, stretch. #stretchnow has been a success so far this week. I’m determined to keep it up. Good for the body *and* mind. I like.
And breathe. Spend time really focusing on my breath and that mind-body connection. I need to be mentally fierce once marathon training kicks in.

Wow. I was anticipating this to be a short post but it’s turned into quite the novel — apparently my mind is already spinning, turning and running away on me and I’m not even close to the start of marathon training. Oy. 😉

27 thoughts on “So, what’s the (February) plan?

  1. You’re going to be running, running, running soon enough during marathon training, so enjoy your busy month and run when you can. Sounds like you sure know what you’re doing! 🙂
    And can you create my marathon training plan, too? I haven’t even thought about mine yet………….

    • I partly wrote this post just to remind myself of that very fact. I don’t want to overdo it this month on the running. I want to go into this cycle feeling good and healthy and ready. Not worn out/burnt out!

  2. So many plans! It always helps me to lay them out on “paper!”

    Joe registered for the Chicago marathon, and I already told him I’m tagging along, so I’ll be there cheering for you too!

    • You know me too well – that’s exactly why I wrote this post! To get it out of my head and onto paper!

      I LOVE that you’ll be in Chicago too!! SO awesome!! Can’t wait to meet you 🙂

  3. S-M-A-R-T. Run when you can is the best approach before you know you have to buckle down. Focusing on sticking to the training will be tough and you want to make sure you are healthy and well rested going into training, you won’t lose any of your strength in a month.

    • That’s the plan – work smarter, not harder, this month but also while in training. I want to walk away from this feeling good, not a worn-out, wiped out mess! (to the best of my ability, anyway!)

  4. Sounds like an great plan. And awesome race calendar! 🙂

    I am interested to hear more about your bar classes. I am a runner who only runs, but am interested in anything to make me stronger 🙂

  5. You are SO SMART. I love how you train – you think about it, you approach each training cycle with an idea in mind of how you’d like it to go and you act on it.

    Taking an easy month before training for a half and then training for a full is a fabulous idea. And you will kick the crap out of the Cox Half – I just know it.

    • Again, I thank you – I try so very hard to train smarter vs. harder and I think it’s really been paying off lately in particular. I’ve never felt stronger in my life, or more energized and ready for MORE. Ready to crush the Cox Half and ready to rock Chicago marathon training shortly thereafter. Wheee!!!

  6. Pingback: Love to run – winter and summer edition | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  7. Pingback: Foodie Friday – interrupted! | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  8. Pingback: The sneakers or the runner? | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

