Sometimes, it’s needed.

A weekend “away” with my favorite person in the world.

…sometimes, it’s needed.

A run that turns into a walk just a mile in (the hubs knee felt twingy, *not* worth messing with, especially with 26.2 looming…)

…sometimes, it’s needed.

A drink while watching the Celtics game at a sports bar in the middle of the afternoon on a gorgeous winter Saturday afternoon in the city.

…sometimes, it’s needed.

Going to the New England Aquarium and squealing with glee at the sheer site of the penguins – a throwback to circa 1988 and 4th grade field trips.

…sometimes, it’s needed.

Having a largely ‘un-routine’ style weekend, with no workouts, no schedules, no planned meals (but very yummy ones like this ridiculously good hand-packed veggie burger stuffed with lentils and other goodies).

…sometimes, it’s needed.

Making it to last call for the first time in god knows when, with some of my favorite friends.

..sometimes it’s needed.

Because this is what memories are made of.

…Something that’s always needed.

39 thoughts on “Sometimes, it’s needed.

  1. Amen!! And I know, we totally made it to last call…that was so weird LOL! (weird in that I don’t remember ever doing that, at least in recent memory!). Weekend was perfect and much needed!

    • Aren’t penguins just the cutest thing EVER?? They were so funny how they’d hop around, dip into the water and back out in between snacks from the guy feeding them. I loved it!

    • aw you are so sweet!! It’s true — I adore my husband and the life we have built together. We have such fun together – big moments, little moments, and everything in between. He makes my world go ’round and I’m not afraid to admit it πŸ™‚

  2. So darn cute. Sounds like a pretty amazing weekend to me!
    Sometimes it’s needed…………to fall asleep on the couch at 8pm Sunday night after a long weekend and totally forget to blog. πŸ™‚

  3. Looks like a great weekend–just knowing what you need is half the battle!
    I spent time with friends this weekend too (and stayed up late…), and I love catching up and laughing/hanging out with them!

    • Exactly – sometimes you don’t even know you need it until you have a chance to look back and realize that all those little moments in your weekend? All needed. WAY more than expected.

  4. It looks like you guys had such a good time!!!!!! I LOVE the aquarium…we go about 1x per year πŸ™‚ It’s fun to be a tourist in your own city. Oh my gosh, last call. I think my bachelorette party was the last time I saw that hour πŸ™‚

    • We DID have a great time — and it’s just such a nice reminder that our own city is a great place to be, no need to hop a flight somewhere for a weekend of fun when Boston has so much to offer! I think we’re going to do this every few months, it’s proving to be exactly the reprieve from “life” that we need.

  5. So true and glad you guys had an amazing weekend! I will live vicariously through you, since I can’t remember the last time the hubs and I had a weekend away! πŸ˜‰

  6. I love this Jess! My absolute favorite is you embracing the “un-routine” and simply enjoying the weekend.. and it looks like you had quite a good one at that filled with laughs, love, good food and wonderful company. Proud of you & glad you had such a terrific weekend!

    • Embracing un-routine – the best thing I’m learning to do more and more of. It’s not easy, esp for this Type-A-er, but it’s worth doing and truly embracing it while in that moment of simplicity. It made for an incredible weekend, that’s for sure. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

