Is it selfish?

Is it selfish?

…to carve out a significant portion of your weekly budget on healthy food to stock your kitchen cabinets, fridge and freezer with?

…to schedule your workouts into pieces of your day, just like anything else? Even if that means splitting them up into two workouts a day?

…to invest in the friendships and relationships in your life who support your desire to live a healthy, fit lifestyle? Who ultimately are a positive, uplifting and supportive force in your life?

…to build your life around something you are very passionate about: living your best, energized and fittest life now?

…to re-organize your schedule if it means you can make that class at your favorite gym or studio, the one that really gets your blood pumping and keeps you coming back for more?

…to take 20-30 minutes even on the busiest of days, to do something (move! skip! jump! laugh!) that will make you feel good and have a positive impact on your health?

…to choose to be healthy, especially if it means being a positive influence on the loved ones in your life – your children, your husband, your wife, your sisters, your brothers, your parents, your friends – even if that choice sometimes takes you away from the very same loved ones you’re trying to influence?

…to put yourself first, if it means that you’ll live a longer, happier, more fulfilling life? So you can be the best you can be for yourself and for all of the people you love, and all that love you?

…to live your best life right now?

…Is it selfish?

No.

It is selfless.

*Editor’s Note: some of these comments come from the super-fab Fitfluential Ambassadors who I *may* have surveyed for ideas for this post. πŸ™‚

37 thoughts on “Is it selfish?

  1. love love love this post. sometimes people ask me how i can spend so much money on food for just the two of us. I tell them fueling our bodies with healthy food is more important to us than buying an extra outfit at the store, or going to see a movie.

    • Exactly – we spend a ridiculous amount on food and never apologize for that fact. It is SO important to fuel your body with good, healthy, real foods!! And to be honest, you don’t have to spend a fortune on food for it to be good for you, it takes a little finagling but it can be done on a budget, absolutely!

  2. Love this. Why is it that when we do something that’s good for us, that we’re passionate about, that makes us stronger (physically, mentally, emotionally) that it’s considered selfish? Yes, we may be taking time for ourselves initially but as a result of it all, we are better able to give back, treat people better, be happier, etc. Or at least that’s just me πŸ™‚

    • You hit the nail on the head – it does take work and committment upfront, but once you start seeing those changes and using them to grow and evolve into a better version of yourself? You can totally be that better version of yourself to your friends, your family, your children, etc.

  3. Absolutely agree with all of these sis. We ALL need to take time for ourselves, and those closest to us…make it a priority, because we only live this life once. We should make it the best we can!

  4. Yes, yes, yes! It’s not a splurge or a sacrifice when you are bettering yourself.

    I definitely spend time doing things that satisfy me, helps me become a better friend, person, etc. And I don’t care how much it costs to eat healthy, eat right!

  5. You know I’m going to agree with you all the way. I hate it when people say they can’t workout b/c of kids, or work, or whatever. Make time for yourself so you can be happier for everyone around you. Be an example for your kids. If my sister, a single mom of 2 working full time plus tutoring jobs on the side can fit in workouts….just sayin’ And it’s such a great example for her kids in my mind.

    • I love the example you shared about your sister – real proof that it can totally be done. Sure, your sister might win supermom of the year aware with the schedule she manages to keep, but I can guarantee she’s a happier person because she’s able to fit in that “me” time despite the chaos of “life” that surrounds her. She is an incredible example to her kids as a result – which I think is so so so important. The more she can influence them while they are young, the healthier they will be as they grow up and develop their own approach to healthy living.

  6. Love this!!!! None of those things are selfish!! Investing in me & my health gives me the energy I need to put my best foot forward in all aspects of my life. OMG, the amount of money I spend on food & working out is INSANE. But the payoff is worth every penny. When I contemplated quitting Core Fusion to save some significant $$ each month even my hubs protested…he likes the “me” that is fit, happy, & fun.

    • I LOVE that your husband protested when you tried to cut Core Fusion from your life — he clearly recognizes the value that Core Fusion has in your life and the positive influence it brings, overall. That is just the coolest. Plus it shows just how supportive your husband is, that is so awesome!

  7. I love this post. It’s a topic I’ve covered a few times. It’s not selfish! It really is self less. If I’m healthy, I’m happy. If I’m happy and healthy, I am more prone to being helpful to others. And I’ll be around a lot longer to be more helpful! Play it forward folks!

    • YES – totally play the scenario out in your head before you instantly nix the idea of carving out “me” time to get healthier. The happier and more energized you are as a person, the better you will be able to do all of the things you want to do to for and with your loved ones.

  8. I LOVE THIS!! i was so excited for this post too. You are spot on. It is selfless, but it is also a fine like to walk between two extremes. Its selfish not to take care of yourself and and its selfish to ALWAYS put workouts before your family friends. Ya know?

    • Such a great nuance to point out — there is a careful balance you need to strike when it comes to putting yourself first versus also identifying the needs of others in your life and learning when to put their needs ahead of yours. It’s a careful balance, but it can be done – you are living proof of that, with your sherpa-ing skills!

  9. So very true! So many of my mommy friends say they don’t have time to take care of themselves and work out. Really though, if you aren’t taking care of yourself, how can you care for others?

    • That’s my thing too – how can you NOT see how much it will benefit you as a mother to feel good about yourself and to have more energy and stamina to keep up with your children by making that time for yourself? Like I said, it doesn’t have to mean hours at the gym, it just means carving something out that is YOURS in your day and doing something active with it. Imagine what a great sign that sends to your kids who look up to you in so many ways. You know?

  10. Loooooveee (along with everyone else above me!). I hate seeing people feel “guilty” for making healthy choices for themselves and loved ones- especially when they are made to feel that way by someone close to them! So well said! πŸ™‚

    • It is sad when it’s the guilt-factor FROM a loved one that prevents you from spending quality “me” time at the gym or out at the store buying healthy foods for the home. A strong support system is such an important piece of the healthy living equation, isn’t it?

  11. I sometimes do feel selfish about how much time I devote to running. I’m constantly telling people, Jason included, that I can’t do this or that because I have to run or prepare to run. I feel bad about it, but ultimately it makes me feel better and I’m more fun to hang out with when I’m in a good state of mind.

    • That’s the truth – you are a happier person when you’re active so your friends and family will/do understand that part of that for you is the time you spend running and working out. That’s not selfish, I don’t think.

Leave a Reply

