Disconnecting and (re) connecting – blogger style

I’m back from Little Rock after what can only be described as the most disconnected yet (re) connecting weekend away. Who knew that was even possible when that weekend away revolved around a long overdue blogger meet-up with fab friend Heather from Where’s the Beach??

Because let’s be honest – the first thing you’d think of when envisioning an entire weekend together as bloggers is lots of blogging, tweeting, facebooking, etc. Uber-connectivity, to say the least.

But that was not what this weekend was about. Instead, it was about re-connecting, being present…jamming as much fun into four days as possible.

While Heather did a much better job detailing our weekend in her weekend recap post (which I LOVED reading when I landed last night in Boston!), I’m here to share sights and sounds (yes, sounds!) from our weekend in Little Rock.

Sights and sounds – Little Rock blogger meet-up style:

…there was laughter, most often shared over a glass (or two, or three, or, er…) of wine.

(Zin Wine Bar – in a word: awesome)

(post-shoe shopping glass ‘o wine – genius idea, really)

…there were lots of new experiences, including a visit to the horse track where Scott made out like a bandit and where I finally got to meet Heather’s sis, Sarah (who is awesome btw); and new foods to try like Heather’s enchiladas (Scott loved them which is huge for my meat-loving husband!). But oops, no pics of our dinner – see? We weren’t true bloggers this weekend, snapping food pics left and right. I wasn’t kidding – disconnecting all over the place!

(wine in a plastic cup – keeping it classy!)

…there was sight-seeing thanks to Heather’s husband who made a fabulous tour guide. My favorite was seeing the Two Rivers and Big Dam bridges as well as the River Market, two areas that Heather likes to go running. It was so cool to see where she spends lots of time!

….there were lots of puppy snuggles with Maddie and Heath, seriously the cutest dogs ever. We won them over pretty quickly, especially Heath – who loves to give hugs and I *love* to receive them!

…and there was one very bloggy thing to do — our first-ever vlog. Done together since it scared the sh*t out of us intimidated us to do solo and it was done over wine since well, wine makes everything better, no? This was our attempt at a blogger PSA – if you haven’t seen it yet, I’d urge you to give it a quick viewing, but more importantly – I’d urge you to attempt a weekend like this. Of disconnecting, staying present, and truly re-connecting.

I could go on and on and ON about this weekend – it was that much fun. But most of all? It gave us all a much-needed break from routine, from our own little realities, giving us a chance to experience life together in a new way which I totally dig.

And might I add? Heather and Jason are phenomenal hosts! The bar is set awfully high for their visit up here at some point this summer. My wheels are already spinning like crazy — there’s so much I want to show them, they may as well come up for an entire month. πŸ˜‰

23 thoughts on “Disconnecting and (re) connecting – blogger style

    • HUGE GRINS still over here — I can’t say enough how much of an incredible weekend it was. Seriously. And PS. Watch your back, I’m totally dog-napping Heath and Maddie πŸ˜‰

    • Haha you are SO CUTE! I know, I’m really glad we ended up doing that vlog even though we were both anxious about it at first. But once we got going, it wasn’t so bad and now you get to hear us talk and see how we interact. Always such a cool thing to see among bloggers, huh? Can’t wait to meet you in October my friend!!!

  1. aawww! I love this post, it screams happiness and smiles. I am so sad to have missed it, but felt like I got to, just a little bit, from your text updates and our skype chat πŸ™‚ LOVE the doggy hugs!

    • I think it’s so funny the reaction we get as bloggers when one of us “hears” the other one for the first time. Makes that person a little more real, huh? Took me long enough to finally do the vlog huh??

    • I’m so glad we did too – part of me was worried we’d get too caught up in being connected all weekend but I’m really proud of us for NOT doing that. We savored our time together, it was such fun!

  2. Pingback: On quieting the mind. | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

    • It WAS wonderful! Hmm the color of my nails – I should’ve known you’d ask, hehe πŸ˜‰
      It’s actually a shellac manicure so I’m not even sure of the color. I’ll ask next time I get them done and let you know! PS If you’ve never done a shellac mani, you MUST try it. It lasts at least three weeks with no chips!!)

  3. Pingback: Food Friday — food repeats | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  4. Pingback: Fashion – not foodie – Friday | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

