Fashion – not foodie – Friday

Ok so y’know how I’ve been traveling all week for work? Spending long days and nights in Cali in planning meetings, in team building sessions at night (i.e. dinner and drinks) and feeling rather sleep deprived and ready for the (very long) series of flights home tonight?

Well – ‘foodie friday’ just wasn’t happening today. My meals have consisted of cobbled together options I’ve brought with me (thank you healthy snack kit I packed on Sunday!), and as many  healthy choices as I could figure out, given how out-of-my-control most of my meals have been. In other words – I’ve done my best, but nothing compares to my own home-cooked meals (ohhh oatmeal, I miss you thiiiiis much!).

So in lieu of Foodie Friday, I figured I’d share a couple of my outfits from this week in Cali. Luckily, we were basically told to dress casual all week so I happily obliged with jeans for the duration of the week (I normally dress “up” in skirts, dresses, dress pants).

We’ll call this Fashion Friday – the traveling-for-work edition:

This is from the first day of meetings. I scored some super-cute finds at the Banana Republic Outlet while shopping with the hubs this weekend so a large part of that outfit is from there.  Sidenote: This outfit made me feel super fashionable and confident!

Jeans: The Limited
Tank: Banana Republic Outlet
Cardigan: Banana Republic Outlet
Necklace: Banana Republic Outlet
Earrings (if you can see them) and bracelet: The Limited
Shoes (which I realize you can’t really see in this pic): a score from my trip to Little Rock (Heather: remind readers what the name of the store was where we found these??)

This was almost an outfit fail. I was going to wear a dress that I brought but upon putting it on that morning, I just wasn’t feeling it. So I went back to the same jeans I wore the day prior and this top and cardigan combo. I’d actually worn the pink top under something else on my travel day to Cali on Monday but decided to wear it again because I didn’t have another tank to wear underneath this cardigan. I was annoyed that I had to re-wear the top but it turned out to be a pretty cute outfit so I guess it wasn’t a fail afterall. 😉

Jeans: The Limited
Pink top: The Limited
Ruffle cardigan: The Limited
Necklace and earrings: The Limited
Bracelet: Pandora
Shoes (which you can’t see…): Naughty Monkey
Bag: Coach Factory Outlet (purchased during one of their “secret sales” online, HUGE steal!!)

(and here’s a close-up of the shoes since you can’t see them in either of those pics – the black ones are Naughty Monkey, the bronze ones are from that store in Little Rock)

Thursday’s outfit involved another Banana Republic Outlet find – and I’m seeing quite the pattern here. Jeans, cardigan, cute tank and cute shoes. Am I predictable or what?? Geez.

Jeans: Seven for all Mankind (my favorite)
Tank: Banana Republic
Cardigan: Victoria’s Secret
Earrings: The Limited
Bracelet: Pandora
Shoes: the cute ones I got in Little Rock

Clearly there’s a big ass huge trend here. I love anything from Banana Republic, The Limited and Victoria’s Secret. In fact, I’m pretty sure that 95% of my wardrobe is from these three stores. The rest is made up of Lululemon, Brooks (sneakers — a new pair should be waiting for me at home that I scored from Amazon.com before I left for my trip, whee!) and Old Navy. Super-cute workout gear, oh how I love thee. 😉

So there you have it – my first fashionista style post, *very* out of the norm around these parts, I realize.  So I hope you don’t mind the slight detour from the usual this week but in the spirit of “un-routine” I figured it was only fitting. 😉

 Happy weekend!

36 thoughts on “Fashion – not foodie – Friday

  1. YES – love Fashion Friday!! Love love that first outfit and bright pop of color on you. And you already know I love the shoes you bought – Warren’s was the store. Today I’m sporting that Limited outfit I posted a pic of last week 😉

  2. You look adorable! I hope you’ve had fun in Cali!
    And…I’m in love with your shoes! 🙂
    Oh, and I miss talking, or commenting back and forth and twittering, with you!

    • Ohhh friend, I miss you too!!! I keep meaning to drop you an email to see how you’re doing amid all that school work you’re buried under!! As a matter of fact, I think I’ll drop you a line right now while it’s fresh on my mind 🙂

  3. Pingback: A WINNING Friday. « Determined. To Be…

    • LOL I read this just before getting on the plane on Friday and was CRACKING UP at the “this is interesting to me” comment. Thanks for being a good sport with this post 😉

    • It was a really nice surprise! I mean, I love dressin gup for work too, but it was nice to not have to think so much about what to pack – for some reason, Jeans are SO easy for me to make look good. I have a harder time picking the right options when I have to dress nicer. Weird, right?

    • Thank you!! I wish the ones from Little Rock were slightly more comfortable…but then again, I’ve always had to wear them during REALLY long days so my feet were sore after, but I think that was more a symptom of the long day more so than the shoes themselves. That’s what I’m telling myself anyway 😉

  4. I wore a t-shirt with a drawing on it today. I got home and Jason was like, “Did you wear that to work??” What can I say? My office is pretty casual!

  5. Such cute outfits Ms Fashionista! I say, next time you are in the Bay we plan a shopping date and head up to the Banana flagship store in downtown SF, which happens to be across the street from a Lulu store 😀

  6. Love the outfits my dear!!!! And I dress almost exactly the same as you – almost every outfit is based with a tank, a cardigan, and something else – a skirt, jeans, you name it.

    and I LOVE LOVE LOVE the BR Outlet!

    • I totally thought of you the day we went to the outlets in Wrentham, was thisclose to calling you to see if you wanted to meet us for some shopping, since I was sorta in your neck of the woods (or closer to it) than I normally am. LOVE that outlet!!

  7. Pingback: Foodie Friday – some simple faves | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

