On staying open to change.

I woke up on Sunday morning feeling anxious. Saturday was a whirlwind. Of catching up on my workouts. Errands. House-cleaning. Cuddle time with Scott. But not nearly enough decompressing. That much was clear to me the second I woke up on Sunday. Anxiety. Stress. Discomfort. Exhaustion. I couldn’t shake it.

…so rather than force a workout, I chose Sunday as my rest day for the week. (change #1).
…w
ent downstairs and started up breakfast, trying to avoid rushing through it. (change #2).
…turned on an episode of Joel Osteen. Hoping it would re-center my mind a bit.

The topic? Change.
…how fitting.

On staying willing and open to change versus fighting it or worse yet, avoiding it entirely. Sticking with the status quo, thinking where you are in life is ‘good enough’ versus seeking out new paths.

Joel made some awesome points about the purpose of change. It isn’t meant to last forever – change, that is. Some changes are fleeting and are only meant to come into your life to enact bigger, longer-lasting change. The main goal in all of this is to get closer and closer to your own personal ‘promised land’ in life.

The key, though, is being open and ready and willing to change. Not to shy away from it. Not to fear it. But to embrace it. Seek it out. Don’t sit idle. Embrace the season (of change) that you’re in.

So where does this leave me? Well – for one, it helped to re-center me. I am living in a sea of change right now. At work – pushing myself to get out of my comfort zone. At barre n9ne – transitioning from teacher to instructor. With running – switching from running to run, to running with purpose (more on this tomorrow…).

I could very easy allow myself to sit in this state of change and feel anxious and unsettled. Or I could choose to embrace and stay open to the changes that surround me. As Joel pointed out, this season of change is pushing me closer to my ‘promised land’ – which in my view, is simply a ‘land’ where I’m living my best life now.

 A very fitting message given how much change I’m about to experience just this week alone – my barre n9ne teaching debut on Friday (!!) and the start of half marathon training (!!). Among other changes I might not even be aware of at this very moment.

So on this day, everyday — I’m going to change how approach change. I will step back, exhale, and embrace it. Be thankful for this season I’m in versus questioning it or fearing it. Staying open to change.

33 thoughts on “On staying open to change.

  1. I am awful at embracing change. Absolutely awful. I need to get better at it though. I’m like an old woman, stuck in my ways, although I’ve sort of always been that way.

    • Hahaha you crack me up – you are who you are, right? To a point, I think we’re all this way – reluctant to change. I know I’ve been that way a LOT in my life. It’s just a recent thing for me to flip it around and learn to embrace change. If I hadn’t embraced it when I did, I wouldn’t have the job that I have, or the chance to teach barre n9ne or the opportunity to knock a bucket list item off my list (the marathon) so I guess, even though I *can* hate change, I can also love it too, for what it’s done to enrich my life, ya know?

  2. I love this message sis. This episode is DVRd and I can’t wait to watch it. I think the anxiety feeling is the notion of field goal vs. touchdown again…don’t rail against change, go toward it, right? We BOTH got this, whatever we are focusing on, we CAN and we WILL. XOXO

    • It totally hit home for me — you’re going to love it. Something about Joel, the way he delivers his message, is just so, so, so profound and deeply touching. I’m always so bowled over by that when I watch him.

      I am SO happy to be going through some of these changes with you by my side, it’s far less scary and WAY more fun than solo. Can’t wait for your class tomorrow!!!

  3. Great quote and thoughts!
    Life seems to be one big change (or rather, millions of little and big ones all the time)!

    I love change, and I’m learning to love the challenges that come with it—they seem to yield the biggest meaningful moments in life…

    • You’re right – the more change you surround yourself with, the more “used to it” you get and the more you actually find yourself willing to accept and embrace change. At least, that’s what I’m noticing happening to me right now. Sure, it’s scary. But it’s kind of an awesome scary too.

  4. Awesome…love when messages hit home like that. You’are doing great so far embracing all of the changes you are going through…and you’re right…they are going to make your life better. With all of the craziness and change I am going through right now I keep reminding myself that it’s okay…because they are all good changes. 🙂

    • I love when it happens too – always hits at the exact right time and whenever it does happen, I try to pay extra close attention to the message. I’m thinking it was sent to me for a reason, no?

      And to your point – yes, these are ALL good changes so while it’s a lot to digest sometimes? It’s totally totally worth it.

  5. I’ve had a lot of changes in my life lately and it’s been a whirlwind. It;s out of my comfort zone to seek change but doing things like; tv appearances and public speaking engagements (change!) has really helped me evolve as a dietitian. Just have to embrace change! Otherwise, life gets stagnant!

    • Once I’m in “change” mode, I tend to thrive too – totally agree. Sometimes it’s harder to be happy right where you are though, instead of enjoying both the changes in life and the constants in life, I totally get that!

    • I feel exactly the same way! In the end, I know it’s good for me – but sometimes, I still get a little anxious just the same. Totally normal in my book. 🙂

  6. isn’t it amazing that life gives us what we need? you needed to hear that sermon! and I needed to read this post. 🙂 many changes in my life the next 6 weeks (and beyond, of course!), but I’m open and willing to see what I can let go of…and what possibilities are ahead. xo

  7. Pingback: 60 days until 13.1 – let’s roll! | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  8. Loved catching up on your blog this morning:-) So many good things are happening for you right now! It CAN be intimidating, exhausting, and stressful….but it also can be OH SO EXCITING! I really believe that these changes are at the right time and for the long road – to shape you, grow your foundation, and nourish your soul. I am loving your approach….listening to your body, quieting your mind to know when to take a step back and soak it all in or rest. This is a wonderful wave you are riding! Great things are in store for you:-) So excited to hear more about your barre n9ne class and marathon training. Yay for an epic 2012!!

    PS. Loved your fashion post:-) Are cardigans the best staple ever or what?!

    • You are the greatest! I LOVED reading this comment from you, it made me smile big, big, big 🙂

      You are absolutely right – this is a wild ride I’m on but I ought to shout from the mountain tops at how excited I am to be part of it all, even if it scares me a little (ok, a LOT) sometimes. Thank you for reminding me to stay excited amidst it all.

  9. Pingback: Mindful (not mindless), intentional (not aimless) | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

