The sneakers or the runner?

Picture this scene:

It’s Tuesday morning.
The first day of half marathon (#4) training.
Intervals on tap.
Brand new Brooks Ghost 3’s arrived in the mail the night prior.
This girl hadn’t run hard speed in weeks.
Off she went…

(anyone want to take a guess at what unfolded next?)

An EPIC round of mile repeat-style intervals ensued.
…it looked something like this:
Mile 0-1:
warm-up @6.8-7.0 mph
Mile 1-2: speed round@7.6mph
Mile 2 – 2.2: recovery round @4mph
Mile 2.2 – 3.2:
speed round @7.6mph
Mile 3.2-3.4:
recovery round @4mph
Mile 3.4-4.4:
speed round @7.6mph
Mile 4.4-4.6:
recovery round @4mph
Mile 4.6-5.6
: speed round @7.6mph
Mile 5.6 – 6.0: recovery round and cool-down @6.0-6.2mph

RUNNER’S HIGHHHHHHHHH!!!!!

Now. Not gonna lie. At first I wanted to chalk it all up to the brand spankin’ new kicks I was sporting, figuring that was the added boost I need to kick out some awesome speed yesterday. But then two thoughts occurred to me.
1 – I haven’t been running very much this past month, at most 15 miles a week or so. (for obvious reason – hi barre n9ne training!) 
2 – Half marathon training started yesterday and I am SO jazzed about the race it’s not even funny. It’s equal parts being back in training and loving that feeling and the fact that I’ll get to run this race with friends (yay Sam!).

So, my conclusion to this question: Was it the sneakers or the runner?
In this case (while I love my new Brooks!) – I’m giving all the credit to the runner this time. This girl worked hard.
…and has very happy feet to prove it. 🙂

42 thoughts on “The sneakers or the runner?

  1. I say it’s the runner. Mentally you had a frame of mind that led you to have an amazing run. Your legs were well rested. I will always credit the runner 100% of the time.

  2. It’s the runner, fully supported by the new quality tools for maximizing your potential!

    Shoes make a big difference, but gotta put credit where it’s due!
    Your body probably thanked you for the break from running, by using that break to build and repair your running muscles…or something!

  3. Huh, I thought I had commented. Unreliable phone I say.

    I definitely say it’s the runner. It’s all in the mindset that you have. 🙂

  4. This post made me smile HUGE! I love seeing you so stoked about another race, about new shoes, about AMAZING SPEEDWORK! You are rocking and rolling half marathon training and it’s only Day 1!

    I’m so proud of you! 🙂

    • That totally did work in my favor – I’m really glad I took a quasi-break from running by really lowering the mileage per week. Now that I’m getting back into the swing, I’m excited to run, my legs are happy and I’m off to chase that elusive runner’s high all over again!

  5. ohhh its so the runner and the state of mind you’re in that day. i feel like some runs are just so awesome bc im mentally with it (and i guess physically too haha). i love those runs..they’re the best and the reason i like to run! shoes are just an accessory (a necessary one though)!

  6. Pingback: Intervals. FTW! | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

