A return to badass status: interval-style!

This happened last night:

Please note:

  • The glint in my eye
  • The sweat glistening off my shoulders
  • The hair completely drenched (if you saw the back, it was literally dripping down my neck and back, HOT.)
  • and the sneaky little smile.

That, my friends, would be the smile of someone who has reclaimed badass status as a runner.
Β (for more on what exactly ‘badass’ status is all about, you might want to refer to Momma Sunshine’s post on the topic from awhile back, she does it much better justice than I ever could!).

You see, I’ve had some decent runs lately, my longer runs have gone better and better, but I haven’t really been focusing on intervals as much lately. Last night I decided it was high time to test out the speed factor. The half marathon *is* in less than two weeks and I do kinda, sorta wanna rock it out come May 6th.

Soooo, intervals it was. And here how it looked:

Building Intervals, Mile Repeat-style

Warm-up: .5 miles at 7mph
Interval 1: 1 mile starting at 7.0 mph and building at each tenth of a mile to 8.0 mph (every tenth I’d up the speed by a tenth)
Recovery: .2 miles at 4.0 (walk)
Interval 2: 1 mile starting at 7.1 mph and building at each tenth of a mile to 8.1 mph
Recovery: .2 miles at 4.0 (walk)
Interval 3: 1 mile starting at 7.1 mph and building at each tenth of a mile to 8.1 mph (same as previous interval round)
Recovery: .2 miles at 4.0 (walk)
Interval 4: 1 mile starting at 7.2 mph and building at each tenth of a mile to 8.2 mph
Recovery: .2 miles at 4.0
Finish with a finalΒ recovery round: 6.8-7.0mph until I hit 6.0 miles.
…and then pat yourself on the back, tweet out your success and promptly devour dinner. <–or wait, that was just what I did last night after I was all done, you can choose an alternate ending to this badass tale if you so choose πŸ˜‰

Sometimes all it takes is a good old-fashioned sweat fest to put a gigantic smile on my face.
…I. Love. Sweat.

(That and a phone call from Tanya, shortlyΒ after the above badassness took place,Β asking me to sub the 6am barre n9ne class in the AM. Even though I’m teaching my regular 9am slot in the AM too. This goes back to me fully appreciating any and all opportunities to teach. A total and utter priviledge in my book. I “get to teach,” I don’t “have to teach.” Bring. It. On. ❀ )

45 thoughts on “A return to badass status: interval-style!

  1. LOL re Tina’s comment πŸ˜‰ I did that too and thought holy crap that is ridiculous πŸ˜‰ Awesome job sis! Bad ass, like whoa πŸ™‚

    • That’s exactly how I felt this afternoon – totally wiped out. Hence the extra dose of coffee you might’ve seen on Instagram earlier. hehe. πŸ˜‰
      Totally worth it!

  2. This post made me smile. Isn’t it amazing how ONE RUN can totally change your mindset on how you are feeling about your running ability??? I try to take that into account when I have a bad run…Huge fan of getting such a good workout out in that you are dripping with sweat =) Perfect way to start/end a day!!!! So excited for your half !!!

  3. Pingback: Running + barre: revisited | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  4. I mean to comment on this one the other day and I didn’t get back to it but you need to put this on your dreadmill tab! I want to totally steal this next rainy day.

  5. Pingback: A runner tempting fate | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  6. Pingback: If all else fails… | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  7. Pingback: If all else fails… | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

