13.1_blank

So yeah.

May 6th is Sunday.
…race day.

And quite honestly, my mind is blank.

My mind is usually never blank (um hi, OATT??).

Everytime my mind wanders to race day, it kind of goes quiet on me. And I kind of think this is a good thing.
..a (potentially) very good thing.

Perhaps I will finally be able to run a race as “just” another long run, truly getting lost in that run.
…letting my body work.
…my mind trusting my body to do its job.
…all 13.1 miles of its job.

I suppose I’ll find out on Sunday now won’t I? πŸ˜‰

Until then, I’ll be carrying this thought — hell, it may be the only thought on my mind — on race day. It’s a goody.

41 thoughts on “13.1_blank

  1. Cute post and already looking forward to your race recap post about crushing those miles on Sunday! πŸ˜‰

  2. That quote is perfect! The first half I ran was actually called “Just Another Short Run” (with 13.1 & 30K distance options!), hah. I remember thinking those people, who thought of that race as a “short” OR long run, were on the crazy side. But, I guess we get it, huh? πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the long run / race!

    • Isn’t that quote awesome? I’m obsessed with it!

      I LOVE that your first half was called “Just another short run” – so funny how perspective changes over time, huh?

    • I’m trying my hardest to avoid questioning (darn OATT!) and am just gonna go with it. I can do this. I’ve done it before. I’ll do it again. That is all.

  3. Pingback: More Friday lovin’ « Determined. To Be…

  4. You will nail it, and not because you say you will, you will because your body is ready, it’s strong, and able and MORE than capable. I am so proud of you sis πŸ™‚

  5. Oh girl, I LOVE this quote! I think that your mind is so quiet because you are so READY, PREPARED, and ABLE. You do not really need to give it much thought because your mind and your body KNOWS what to do…you’ve got this. Now go run proud and have a blast!
    xo

    • I hope you think of this quote while you’re out there CRUSHING 26.2 miles on Sunday!! I am SO PROUD Of you and will be drawing from your excitement and energy on Sunday for sure. xo!

  6. Pingback: 13.1 goal: crushed. | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  7. Pingback: Throwbacks on comparison and number fixation. « Determined. To Be…

Leave a Reply

