Foodie Friday — the “if you give a boy a cookie” edition

Remember that book “If you give a mouse a cookie”?

I LOVED that book growing up.
A close second to the Berenstain Bears “Messy Room” that is. ๐Ÿ˜‰

For those of you that follow me on Instagram (I’m “jessfit654” if you’re looking for me!), I posted this series of pictures yesterday morning:

That would be a ridiculous ice cream cookie sandwich.

A concoction I created for the birthday boy. Ice cream and homemade chocolate chip cookies are his ultimate weakness. Swap in homemade ice cream for store-bought and you have a birthday boy’s dream come true.

Now, I can’t take *any* credit for the recipes – I made the cookies based on the directions on the back of the Nestleย Tollhouse chocolate chips wrapper and used this recipe from Real Simple. <–I’m so original, right??

The key for me? Using whole, real ingredients – fresh cream, fresh milk and butter, real chocolate. Real, real, REAL.

You see, my rule of thumb is this: If you’re going to indulge, make sure its worth it. And it better be real, homemade and fresh. Or else, why bother? I wouldn’t ever dream of wasting precious calories on a chips ahoy cookie or some crap like that. Such a waste when homemade always tastes SO MUCH BETTER.

…and sometimes? You just need the cookie. You just do.

Especially when you take two cookies and mash homemade chocolate chip ice cream in between them. This would be the smiling face of one very happy birthday boy.

ย “If you give a boy a cookie” indeed. ๐Ÿ˜‰

28 thoughts on “Foodie Friday — the “if you give a boy a cookie” edition

  1. Glad Scott is loving the tasty dessert. So true if you’re going to splurge, may as well do it in style and with tasty food and vino. Have a great weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. aww! he looks like the happiest guy alive! Love it! I had a bite of the cookie you gave me for M and OMG, like sex in my mouth (TWSS, like whoa)….so effing good.

    • um hi — COMMIT TO THE COOKIE. You’d tell me the same thing. eat your own cookie and savor every single last bite. Srsly (M will thank me for telling you this, lol)

  3. Uhhhhh where’s MY cookie!!!! You know that post should have come with an advisory warning for hungry readers! ๐Ÿ˜›

  4. Pingback: Food & Fitness Friday: Bahamas

  5. Ok, so I want a cookie…

    That berenstain bears book was my absolute favorite….but I actually never read the give a mouse a cookie book until my nephew was born (and that turned out to be our favorite together….I have the whole thing memorized).

  6. …especially if the cookies are fresh from the oven WARM. mmm… Jason’s birthday is coming up this month, and when I asked what kind of cake this year, he said “I want one of those big mall cookies” ๐Ÿ˜€ so a great big cookie is what he will get… we can top it with ice cream!

    happy birthday again – he looks so happy!

    • I’m convinced there is NOTHING better than a fresh baked chocolate chip cookie right out of the oven. WITH a glass of wine (because wine goes so frickin’ well with chocolate, for the record). haha. LOL – Scott always says that about the mall cookies!! Maybe I’ll do that for his bday next year ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. I couldn’t agree more. Eat real food. If you’re going to indulge, make it good. I really try to limit my indulgences to super awesome homemade goodies.

  8. Pingback: Flavorful “Foto” Friday

  9. Pingback: Sometimes. | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  10. Pingback: From the #foodlovah diaries | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

