What change means.

This year has revolved around a whole heck of a lot of change for me — and most of that change was by design. After proclaiming 2012 as my ‘year of no limits’, I’ve intentionally looked for change. Seeking out opportunities to try new things, get out of comfort zones, break down boundaries. Get uncomfortable, stay there, even if I was afraid of it.

And it’s that mentality that has paid off in spades for me this year. Worth. It.

Lately, I’ve been thinking a LOT about what change means…and after recent reading got my wheels turning even more on the change front, I thought it was time to blog about it here.

What change means…perception. What tends to be the hardest part about change? Not the physical act of the change on your day-to-day life, but the perception change that often takes far longer to happen.

I’ll give you two examples.

Example #1: It’s no secret that I’ve shed a few pounds and inches this past year thanks to my focus on barre n9ne, and it’s changed my body in some pretty awesome ways. I’m very proud to say that today (and no, I don’t believe it’s vain to feel proud of hard work like that). Yet, I still sometimes find myself struggling with self-perception. I sometimes look in the mirror and “see” imperfections that truly aren’t there. I sometimes sit and fear that I’ll suddenly revert to the “old” me from a year ago who was unhappy, frustrated, sad. To me, that’s a sign that my brain hasn’t fully caught up to who I am, what I’ve become, and where I’m going…yet. It’s not a bad thing. It’s just one of those “things” that comes with change — the need to accept and embrace new perceptions as a result of whatever change is going on in your life.

Example #2: At work, I used to find myself happily set in my ways, head down, working away, not often making time to socialize around the office or whatever. Now, in this (sorta new) job of mine? I recognize that the ‘heads-down’ mentality isn’t always the right approach. I’ve always been a work-horse on the job, proud of myself for being able to juggle a lot, and plow through to-do items like a fiend. But sometimes? It’s not about ticking items off a list, spending your days like you’ve always spent them.  Sometimes, it’s about the communications and socialization aspect of my job that matters more. Sometimes its about doing things, seeing things, approaching things…differently. It’s something I’m constantly pushing myself towards — it’s an uncomfortable area for me, for sure, but it’s good, needed change. But again, it’s a perception thing (and a habit thing for sure) for me…it’s time to shift it.

What change means…facing fears.  Fear is a hard emotion to face, and even harder to overcome. Fear of the unknown. Fear of heading into un-charted waters that you maybe have yet to face at all in your 20-30-40+ years on this earth. But what I’ve learned this past year? The more you face fears, the more you seek change, the more you LIKE change and want more of it. I’ve found it to be crazy liberating to finally be at a point where I can enjoy change vs. run from it.

Heather’s post that I linked to above struck such a chord with me yesterday when I first read it. Her words from the Lululemon retreat she just went on:

When you stand in nothing*, you open doors to possibility.

Let those words settle in for a sec.
…unreal, right??

When you let nothing get in your way (preconceived notions, perceptions, fears),the sky is truly the limit. Change becomes the gateway to those “doors of possibility.”

…the more I think about it, the more I’m digging these “doors of possibility.” Where’s the doorknob? 😉

 

37 thoughts on “What change means.

  1. I’m in the midst of big changes here and you nailed with the word fear.

    For me it has been about stopping and feeling the fear and EMBRACING IT so I can move through.

  2. This past year has been so much about change for me. I have really had to dig deep, find some courage and take a leap. I completed my Fitness Nutrition Certification and am almost there for my Personal Training Certification…at the age of 37. I never thought I would be at this point. I really don’t know exactly where I’m heading right now, but I know I’m the happiest I’ve been in a really long time doing exactly what I love to do.

    Such an inspirational post!

  3. I think it’s so easy to get complacent with things in life and even though change can be hard and scary, it’s always worth it!

  4. I love this message sis, and must read Heather’s post as well. We all need to reach for the door knob much more than we do. As Lee says, it is easy to get complacent and I never want to fall into that either. Challenge helps us grow. Complacency does not.

    • I love the reaching for the doorknob analogy so much — it is such a visual reminder that reaching for goals (via that doorknob) is such an all-encompassing thing, isn’t it? But once you reach, and can sense that goal coming closer and closer to you, it’s nearly impossible to turn back. Right?

      Amen re: complacency!!

    • I see SUCH huge potential in you my friend…if you’d only trust yourself a *little* bit more, I can see you really blossoming even more than you have since I first met you (you’ve made HUGE strides since then!!). I know there are a few dreams you’d love to chase right now. My advice? Do it. Don’t question. Don’t what-if. Don’t fear. Just do. You got this, friend. xo!

  5. so inspirational it gave me chills! my focus is mostly elsewhere right now, but I do have time to think and plan what’s next for me. I have always had a no fear approach (don’t know where I get it, am always surprised by it!) and I am very grateful for that!

    XXO

  6. Love this! I have been really trying to embrace change lately. We’ve had a lot of it with a new baby and a new business, but there is a lot more to come. I’m trying so very hard not to let fear get in the way of success!! 🙂 Nice post/reminder.

    • You’ve done an AWESOME job of embracing change lately my friend — and just look at all the doors its opened up for you because you faced the changes, even the scary ones, head-on. It’s awesome, right??

  7. Sounds like you’ve made some great changes to yourself in your fitness and work life in the past year. So true about fear because I think change can be scary and not knowing what lies ahead with change but then I think change can bring unlimited potentials. Trying to think of a new fitness goal for myself, more change scary but exciting,

    • That’s exactly right — change can bring unlimited potential and possibilities if you ALLOW for it. I say go for a new, scary, FUN fitness goal. I’d love to hear about it!

  8. Well lady, you know I am all about putting perceptions behind you and letting yourself really explore what’s *possible*. 🙂 It’s always so inspiring to read about personal transformations and growth – you are a pure, real example of what can happen when you step outside of personal comfort zones and forget the “boundaries”. Keep pushing those limits!

  9. Change is no doubt scary. I feel like I’m kind of on the cusp of some big changes but, to be honest, I’m a little scared to face them head on. You’re so right – I need to just be open to it and approach it not with my fears and preconceived notions but with “nothingness.” You constantly inspire me Jess.

    • It IS scary to face them head-on. I battle it every single time…and honestly, I don’t always fully face them head-on right away. It sometimes takes me a couple of tries, but that’s what this is all about. Trying new things, facing the scary unthinkable things, and learning to JUST DO IT. You got this, go after your goals and changes in life with a vengeance!!

  10. Change is pretty frightening for so many reasons…fearing if you can handle it, fearing who you meet/approach, fearing putting in the extra work. Newness takes you out of your comfort zone. I’ll give you two examples of how I learned to love change (so much that sometimes I feel like I have a hard time focusing). I went to 13, yes 13, different schools in my life. My dad was in the Coast Guard and moved us every 2-5 years. I hated & loved it many times. Sometimes I was so happy to leave, others I cried for days. But, in the end, by college, I was ready to embrace change. I acclimated so easily. And the most recent: choosing to CHOOSE my first half destination. Setting the big date. I’ve loved every minute of this change…every minute of every mile I add on. I never thought I’d get there, and I’m not sure why. Fear? Doubt? Who knows. All I know is that I can’t stand my previous “go-to run”. I prefer the distance now. 🙂

    I love you and your posts.

    • and I love YO and your posts!! This is a PRIME example of how getting out of our comfy little corners of the world can enact such amazing change in such an amazing way. I get more and more and MORE excited for you by the second, every time I read about your latest running updates as you get ready to conquer 13.1 you are going to be amazed at what your body can do by the end of this thing. so proud!!

  11. that’s a very lululemon-oriented concept about creating possibility – starting with nothing so you can create anything. it’s very powerful! I have the same issues with self-perception at times. I have to remind myself to be confident in what I’ve accomplished, and the healthy choices I make…and not let any mind games get in the way or set me back. about the workplace environment – I’m getting used to my new role and my new team of co-workers. I’m trying to feel comfortable there and find that balance between working hard and letting loose a little bit to get to know people. it’s working so far! and it helps that the social media team has wine Fridays. 🙂

    • I LOVE the concept of starting from nothing to create any possibility you want. It’s about shaping your own path in a way, but on the other hand, it’s also largely about learning to embrace your path (a path that none of us can ‘see’ at the outset, of course) and rolling with it. Incredible, right?

      PS LOVE that your new job has wine fridays, that’s how you know this is the job for you, right?? haha!

  12. This definitely sets the wheels a-spinnin’ in my head my dear. You are a true and total inspiration, every day I see more and more amazing progress and straight up awesomeness out of you. It makes me so happy to call you my friend. 🙂 Keep it up girl!

    • I am SO HAPPY to call you a friend — you are just awesome, in every single way. And I’m so glad to see all the awesome changes going on in your life, all for GOOD reason. YAY for change that matters!

  13. Pingback: Double digits and tweaks in (marathon) training | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  14. Pingback: Chill (the eff) out. | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  15. Pingback: No limits, new molds | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  16. Pingback: She believed she could. | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

