Chill (the eff) out.

These were the words I definitely said to myself on more than on occasion last night — mid-meltdown. 
…yes, mid-meltdown.

You see? It’s time that I truly listened to my words and recognized the meaning behind them.

“Chill (the eff) out.”

Code word for: just. stop.

Slow down.

Stop putting so much pressure on yourself.

Quit seeking perfection when you know seeking excellence is a better mission.

Run away from structure now and then.

…stop being so concrete.

That last one got me good. Scott’s words, not mine.

Said to me when I was SO up in my head, SO unable to well, chill (the eff) out, that I wasn’t even seeing it.

“It” being the red sign, the warning symbol, the big blaring flashing lights: Slow. Down. Way, way down.

So this is me. Telling myself that it’s ok not to be perfect all the time. That it’s ok to let go of structure in favor of truly living. Without boundaries, rules or limits.


It’s ok to just be.

(and on that note…don’t be surprised if you don’t hear much from me between now and post-wine country. I’m thinking I’ll be a little busy ‘truly living’ amid the vines, the grapes, the company, the moments. I know you’ll understand…)

28 thoughts on “Chill (the eff) out.

  1. Love love love. My husband often tells me to just let go. I get too stressed about silly stuff – like feeling the need to clean up the kitchen immediately after dinner when I should go outside with my husband and son and enjoy the beautiful weather. Who cares if the dishes and crumbs stay out for an extra hour? I’m learning. It’s hard =)
    I hope we don’t hear from you AT ALL until your vacation is over. Enjoy it. Disconnect from social media. Enjoy the surroundings and the company. We will be here when you get back =)

  2. Oh girl, I know that feeling. It can be hard when you get so wound tight too. It’s hard to stop, step back, reset. You can’t control everything so you gotta stop trying or it’ll drive you nuts (this is a note to self too of course). I know you’re about to enjoy a wonderful vacation in wine country. Just. Enjoy. Period.

  3. We both need this, so so much. Chill the eff out. Just enjoy and be and embrace it. Change, unroutine, everything. we are blessed to have this opportunity, so we might as we live it to the fullest. XOXO sis, and I am so glad Scott is out there with you to help keep you sane 🙂 Can’t wait to see you tomorrow!!

  4. Pingback: Taking a deep breathe…to unWINEd. « Determined. To Be…

  5. Yes, lady! Relax and enjoy your vacation. There are things we can control in life and things we cannot. My favorite thing to ask myself when I feel like that is “If I look back on this in one year, will all the tears and energy be worth it? Will I even remember this meltdown?” If the answer is yes- proceed full steam with the meltdown. We all need a good one from time to time. If the answer is no- I try to relax and put some perspective on the situation. I’ve learned that most meltdowns aren’t worth it! Enjoy your vacation and lots of wine!

  6. I do hope that we don’t hear from you much over the week (even though I will miss you!) because you all so deserve to rest and unwind and unwine (your sister’s pretty clever with that one :-)) I so need to chill the eff out too. This weekend was a good step towards that but I need to remember that feeling now that I’m back home. HAVE FUN!!!

  7. I just finished reading Wayne Dyer’s Change Your Thoughts Change Your Life: Living the Wisdom of the Tao and there is a quote from there I have been meditating on this week … “Relax, let go, allow, and recognize that some of your desires are about how you think your world should be, rather than how it is in that moment”

  8. One of my favorite yoga inspired quotes: “I do yoga so that I can stay flexible enough to kick my own arse if necessary.” ~ Betsy Cañas Garmon
    Stay present and enjoy every moment of wine country!

  9. Sigh. Where do I begin? Where. the heck. do I begin with this one, Jess?

    First, what I love about my friendship with you and Jo is that I share so many traits with BOTH of you. I put far too much pressure on myself over a lot of things. It usually involves the goals I want to achieve the most. I always feel the need to achieve them PERFECTLY. The approach, the end result, everything. Everything has to go perfectly, as planned…and this was the first time (this training) that I didn’t force myself to do everything perfectly. I didn’t run every run it said to. Junk miles…I didn’t try to perfect my pace…I just wanted to make sure I enjoyed the training, and honestly there’s only been three times out of the entire 8 weeks that I’ve not enjoyed the run.

    Run the mile you’re in…and that means life, too. Break life down into “miles”. Run the mile you’re in. Take a deep breath and, like you said, slow down. ❤ Enjoy every minute of your vacation, Jess. ❤

  10. Pingback: (Un)titled. | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  11. Pingback: An open letter to me: do not fear 26.2 | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  12. Pingback: Goals vs. Rules — there *is* a difference | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  13. Pingback: On “found” time | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  14. Pingback: Please reset. | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

