“Holy crap, we just ran 14 miles.”

“Holy crap, we just ran 14 miles.” 

That would be my facebook status update on Saturday morning after running the farthest either of us have ever run.
…yes that would be a big ‘ol PDR baby. 

One  PDR in a series of many, many more to come. 

And I think that’s what really got me on Saturday: that we’re now in what I’d call ‘serious’ marathon training mode. The next few weeks are going to be so incredible. Both incredibly challenging, incredibly tiring, but also incredibly rewarding.

I’m finally at the point in marathon training where I’m embracing the sheer fact that Scott and I are embarking on something so very unique, so very ‘once-in-a-lifetime,’ so very incredible. We’re testing our bodies (and our minds) in ways very few people will ever be tested.
…and that’s something worth savoring, vs. rushing through.

(even though I can promise you my mind has gone to that “I can’t wait for this to be over” place more than once on Saturday)

So that’s what we did on Saturday. We both went into this 14 miler thinking about it as 2+ hours of uninterrupted ‘us” time. We might not have talked all that much in those 2+ hours, but we were ‘talking’ through running. Silently cheering eachother on, staying ‘in’ the moment, pushing around every loop, turn, hill and straightaway until we hit the final mile of our longest run to date.

And that’s when Scott said: “how does this feel? exhilarating, huh?”

He broke my concentration with those words but I’m glad that he did. His words forced me back into the moment, where that final mile would become round out our longest run, a run that I’m really damn proud of. I never went into that ‘panic’ place, I never felt like I couldn’t do it. I was tired, sure. My knees and hips started to ache a bit by the end, sure. But I felt good, all things considered. Damn good.

And that’s what I’d call a huge-ass confidence building run. The confidence we’ll both need to conquer 15 miles this week before we take it back to 12 or 13 miles for a bit of a ‘pull back’ week in training. And then it’s back up, up, up – 17 miles, 18 miles, 20 (!) miles, etc., etc., etc.

Whoa. 

…we’re really doing this thing, huh?? 
(I still can’t quite believe it…)

34 thoughts on ““Holy crap, we just ran 14 miles.”

  1. I am so impressed sis. You make it sound so easy and I don’t say it in a way that it IS easy or that you are finding it easy, just that if you focus and put your mind to it, anything is possible. A part of me still wishes we were sharing these runs together, but I can share in the pre- and post-enjoyment of it with you and that makes me smile. and hopefully I can ‘work in’ to one of your long runs soon! You are doing so awesome!

    • I make it sound easy? Wow, I’m a better writer than I thought. hehe, just kidding. Thank you for saying that. But to be honest — now that I look back on that run, sure it was challenging and LONG but you know what? I felt pretty darn good for the majority of it and that feels like such progress! Talk about a confidence booster at just the right time, huh? Thank you for being SO damn supportive sis, I love you!

    • Aww friend, I was SO channeling you on Saturday. As I was running along (and yes, praying), I thought of your smiling, warm and supportive smile and it powered me through. xo

  2. Congrats my friend. It’s such a HUGE feeling of accomplishment and pride isn’t it? And I love that bit about talking through running. I was thinking about that on our Friday run. We weren’t speaking, but our feet were in sync, somehow we were more in sync. Sort of that feeling of “we’re in this together for better or worse” kind of like marriage huh.

    • EXACTLY like marriage, hehe. It’s how I’d equate running with a partner — you’re in it to win it, through thick and thin. It made all the difference on Saturday. I feel SO lucky to be able to train with him. I’m 100% sure I wouldn’t be able to do this without him by my side. ❤

  3. Congrats! I’m glad to hear your 14 miler went well and that you enjoyed it. Take plenty of time to bask in your accomplishment, you’ve earned it!

  4. Whoohooo!!! Congratulations, Jess!! Just getting out there and attempting a PDR each week takes courage – sounds like you guys had a wonderful run. And I agree – when my hubby and I used to go on long runs together, it was “us” time – we didn’t talk either but it was an extremely bonding and intimate thing that we shared each week. So glad that you have someone to share it with – makes it that much more special!!! xoxo

    • It DOES take courage and drive and confidence to get out there and run towards a PDR. This run gave me the boost I need to stare down 15 miles this week with confidence and joy vs. fear and anxiety. HUGE mental mindshift for me. I really needed this run!! This ‘us’ time is like the icing on the cake, it’s unlike any other couple time we could ever ask for, so unique, so bonding, you know?

    • It’s SO true – such a mini WIN each time I hit a new distance, reach a new milestone, find a new high. It’s incredible what I’ve learned and seen already so far. I feel so thankful for this opportunity, I’m realizing that and recognizing that more and more each day.

  5. I am so proud of you guys!! Sounds like you had a great run and a beautiful new PDR. Yes, it’s a little intimidating to think that you’re going to be hitting new mileage highs from here on out but just think of it as just one more mile. So excited for you!

  6. Pingback: Thoughts on 26.2 — almost 8 weeks in | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  7. GOSH… reading this totally gave me all kinds of awesome emotion – the accomplishment, the exhilarating HIGH, the ‘doing this together’ – all so incredibly cool. I have never run a marathon, but have run many a half and I remember that first long distance – such a great feeling that you are “running after” with every run! 🙂 YEE I’m excited for you!

    • It is SUCH an incredible and unique high — I’ve never felt it before in my life. And I’m seriously hanging onto it as long as I can, I don’t ever want to forget this when all is said and done!

  8. Pingback: Ready to Run Again | Happy Fit Mama

  9. Pingback: How did we get here?! | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  10. Pingback: (almost) Wordless Wednesday — remembering every (long) mile. | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

