Foodie Friday – the ‘me dinner’ edition

So by now you all know how much I just adore this guy, right?

(sorry, I can’t help myself, I LOVE his smile in this picture from last summer at the lake!)

Well, even though I adore him more than anyone else in the world, I do appreciate a good ‘me night’ now and then, too. Last night turned into being just that: a night all to my own, to do whatever I felt like doing, including cooking a meal that only I would eat!

I thought about it all week — hmmmm, what should I make that I’d normally not ‘get’ to make since a certain someone in this household can be rather picky?. 😉

…it didn’t take me all that long to figure out, to be honest. I knew I wanted something stir fry-ish (yes, that’s a word). And I knew I wanted to cook up some barley – a grain I only recently re-discovered and freakin’ LOVE. It all came together, though, when I saw an instagram pic from Tina with a genius idea — she used pineapple juice to cook up her quinoa recently. Um hi, I LOVE pineapple! So instead of pineapple juice in the barley, I decided to use fresh pineapple chunks in the stir fry itself.

…which is how this creation was born:

Shrimp and veggie stir fry over barley <–such an original title, I know

OMGGG. Freakin’ delish.

In the mix:

1/4 cup (raw) barley (that I cooked in water/chicken broth, LOVE how it puffs up once cooked!)
1 cup (or so) of trader joe’s frozen veggies (it had peppers, baby corn, broccoli and carrots)
1/4 cup (or so) of fresh snap peas
1/2 cup fresh pineapple chunks
4 oz cooked shrimp
lemon juice (optional, to taste)
chicken stock to saute

I basically cooked up the barley earlier in the day and once dinner time rolled around, I sauteed the veggies and shrimp in the chicken stock and then added the barley in to warm it up. Once it was almost done, I squeezed a bit of fresh lemon juice on top.

…and then I devoured it. Yummmmm.

Talk about the perfect ‘me’ dinner if I do say so myself 😉
(if you’re curious, this was about 425 calories in total)

It may have concluded with this fine pairing:

Field Stone rose (one of our favorite wine clubs!) and a Dove chocolate
Perfection. ❤

< Editor’s Note: Check out the new layout! Dig it? Don’t be too impressed, it’s just a wordpress template, but at least it freshens things up around here nicely! >

28 thoughts on “Foodie Friday – the ‘me dinner’ edition

  1. Is a dish including shrimps veggie?? You Americans are so suprising! 😉
    Great idea to add the pine apple. Looks very delicious. I would have added thinly sliced chili and a few drops of soy sauce as well. But that’s just the Asian cuisine loving food blogger in me 😉 Love that recipe!

  2. Jess you are too cute with your little mentions to the husband. I actually woke up this AM and scrowled through my twitter and saw you up and at em at the barre, it got me out of bed to do a morning run/walk, so just want to say thank you, and have a good friday 🙂

  3. I definitely enjoy “me” nights where I can make “me” food.

    I love pineapples and I love barley and quinoa but I don’t love them together. I am weird about sweet/savory combos.

    • It IS nice to have those nights to yourself now and then huh?

      Funny…not everyone loves the sweet/savory thing, my husband definitely falls into that camp too. He’s not a fan…another reason I made this for my ‘me’ night!

  4. I LOVE the new look! I will also try the recipe because I’m huge barley fan as well (sans shrimpies and sub veggie stock for chx, of course 🙂 ) . We’ve been rocking the quinoa lately too since it’s easier for Thad to eat since he only has the two teeth right now.

  5. I love the new look – bright and clean.

    I cook quinoa in juice a lot – like carrot ginger??? SO good! I haven’t tried pineapple, but that sounds perfect for a stir fry!

    happy Friday, happy WEEKEND!

Leave a Reply

