Of teaching with gratitude (one year later)

Today marks one year since I taught my very first class at barre n9ne studio and I’m honestly sitting here at a loss for words at how to best capture what this year has meant to me.

The one word that keeps swirling in my mind is gratitude.

I know I gush about barre n9ne for about a million reasons but the main reason I’m so in love with barre n9ne is that it occupies such a beautiful, joyful and grateful space in my heart.

48144_10151429686610682_500304445_n

It’s where I met the most amazing studio owner Tanya, who I am honored to call a friend, a mentor, and the best boss around.

It’s where my sister and I bonded over our own ‘challenge’ journey as the original barre n9ne challengers (awesome post here by Tanya on what that challenge journey has evolved into for so many women at the studio since then…almost 2 years ago!)

It’s where I have the honor of paying that challenge experience forward by supporting in any way that I can each challenger that commits to changing her life for the better, into a fit, happy and healthy forever lifestyle. (and ensuring that every class I teach is as challenging and fun as I can make it)

It’s where I learned how to love my body for all that it is and all that it promises to become.

Image (13)

It’s where I go and know that #everytime I set foot through the front door of the studio, whatever stress or frustration may be swirling in my mind, immediately dissipates as I step forward as instructor, a badge I wear with such joy and honor.

And it’s where I know that no matter what, I’ll always get the most killer workout of my life. Nothing else compares. Nothing.

But ultimately? barre n9ne studio is my happy place. I love it dearly. I love every single client that shakes their bum off at the barre, and I love that this is truly just the beginning. I’m expecting greatness to come at barre n9ne studio in 2013 and for many, many more years.

#b94lyf ❤

24 thoughts on “Of teaching with gratitude (one year later)

  1. LOVE this post sis! I smiled reading every single word! It is my happy place, it is OUR shared place, our place where we’ve bonded and grown together in so many ways. and a place where we finally learned to love ourselves fully and truly. Cheers to many more years to come! ❤

    • I can only imagine how we’ll be feeling a year from now, two years into our instructor journey and three years into our overall barre n9ne journey. Utterly amazing. Have loved every minute…especially because it’s been shared with you. ❤

  2. Happy Anniversary!! Love this post too. Love seeing how you and Jo have gone through this journey together and the amazing progress and lessons you both have learned along the way. Cheers to you!

  3. i told jolene the same, this year.. i’ve seen you both GROW! Grow into an even more inspirational woman, into a fabulous teacher, an adoring wife, and a supportive friend. xxoo Congrats on your one year! ❤

    • Awww I love you friend! Thank you — this has truly been a year+ where I’ve committed to the people and things in my life that matter most of all. And I am SO happy that I’ve done that, it’s such a happy, content, and powerful place to be ❤

  4. Congrats—>looks like you and the studio are very lucky! Reading this posts also makes me realize just how long I have been reading your blog, and I still enjoy it more than ever. Have a nice end to the weekend 🙂

    • Aww thank you friend…it’s true. It’s through this nearly two year journey that I’ve learned so much about myself and have grown into my own skin in a way that I never EVER thought was possible. A true blessing in so, so many ways.

    • Thank you SO much Steph!! I feel so happy to have ‘met’ you through b9 and now through blogging too, isn’t it just such a wonderful place to be? The studio just emanates such positive energy, I LOVE it so much!!

  5. Pingback: Powerful and spring-y | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  6. Pingback: Everyone needs a little me (workout) time | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  7. Pingback: Healthy Chicks» Blog Archive » Healthy Chicks in the Community: An Inspiring, Fit, Barre-Loving Wino

  8. Pingback: #FitFriday ruminations | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  9. Pingback: *That* moment. | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  10. Pingback: A need to move | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

