Well, now what?

…so there’s that PR I can’t stop talking about.

…and that little marathon thing I can’t stop thinking about.

…and barre n9ne that I’m still totally and utterly in love with.

Well, now what? 

I’m finding myself stumbling into an “in between” spot — no races to be training for, no barre n9ne challenge to be focused on (not “officially” anyway…always in barre n9ne mode in some shape or form). No “something” to be working towards, near-term.

So, knowing me, I’ve been doing lots of thinking. About what I want to focus on for the next say, six months before officially throwing myself into marathon training (y’know, after I can actually register for the Chicago Marathon…minor detail!). 

And I’ve decided that I have three goals for myself – they probably won’t surprise you.

1 – Maintain my running endurance as best as I can this winter (aiming for a long-ish run per week all winter, for the most part)

2 – Make sure to properly mix in intervals to work on speed. (I hear a certain Jim over at RunBikeSurf has a killer interval workout he and Sam at Because I can are planning to post soon…ahem!)

3 – Stay focused in barre n9ne, constantly improving my form, core strength and flexibility.

Sounds pretty well-rounded…and kinda similar to what I’ve been doing, yeah? The difference to me is a subtle one. But it’s an important one to me. I’ve worked SO hard to get myself into the best running “fitness” of my life and I feel like I’m in a really good place. So I want to hang onto it like hell. 

I’m also so grateful for what barre n9ne has done for me — it’s totally transformed me, and continues to change me every single day. Physically but perhaps even more so mentally. So I want to hang onto *that* like hell too. 

The only difference in either scenario? No hard and fast “schedule” or “training plan” for the next few months. And I’m cool with that. It’ll let me mix up my weeks a little bit more than I have been the past few months. But it’ll still be focused, which is so important to me.

For example – this week has been solely focused on barre n9ne while I give myself a running break (my joints are thanking me!). And maybe there will be a week or two where I’m more focused on running and intervals/speed and less so on barre n9ne. Who knows.

Either way? I have my eye on the prize – 26.2 next October. The next year is going to be a rollercoaster (like whoa). And I’d like to start that rollercoaster on solid (strong) ground. Strong legs, happy joints, conditioned core.  Run-smart. Train-smart. Live-smart. 

…so this is my non-plan of a plan. I dig it. 

25 thoughts on “Well, now what?

  1. 26.2, baby!!! Woohoo! YOU CAN DO IT!!! I’m with you in terms of wanting to maintain my running endurance as much as possible this winter. It’ll be a challenge, but that’s what winter running gear is for, right? 😉

    • Weeeee!!! That totally counts as “badass” right??

      As for winter running gear – yes, the cuter the gear the better and more motivating. That’s my rule. Cute winter gear = no excuses.

      • haha true, you make a good point. Warmth trumps cute – but cute *does* help with motivation. Might as well look good while running in sub-zero temps (I can’t even fathom that weather, I’m in total denial right now!!)

    • You’re right – trying very hard not to overthink it and to just go with it. Especially knowing that I’ll have to be pretty regimented come marathon training time. And I really want to have a good base going into this thing, without feeling like I’m starting from scratch.

  2. Sounds like you know what you’re doing! You can use this time to focus on yourself and even take more rest days!!! Trust me, once you start marathon training, rest days are hard to come by. Lol.

    • Ha, more like flying by the seat of my pants!! But you’re right, trying to enjoy this less structured time period (and those rest days!) so I’m rested and strong and ready to tackle marathon training in the spring. Eeeeek!!

  3. Oooh 26.2 in October!! What race are you thinking of? I’m going to see how my second half in March goes. Who knows, I may hop on the full 26.2 bandwagon.

    You RAVE about barre n9ne.Does anyone have any ideas for a similar studio in the DC/Bethesda area?

    • Got my eye on the Chicago marathon next October, eeee!!!

      Yes, barre n9ne has been amazing for me and really pairs well with running for strong, lean muscles and a good core, all so very important to good runner form. I just did a quick search online and there aren’t any of the “big” studios in your area (like Core Fusion at Exhale Spa or Physique57 or PureBarre) but there does seem to be some that are similar in style to barre n9ne and other barre-style classes. My advice would be to poke around at a few studios in your area and take a test class in each before settling in on the one that works for you. I think you’ll love it!!

  4. You wasted no time getting back on the wagon. Your plan is strategic, aggressive and totally attainable. Looking forward to following you on the way. Keep up this positive attitude and enthusiasm.

  5. this is always the hardest. You are on a runners high but you know you need some rest. The holidays are approaching and you want focus. I get that. I think Barre 9 is good and maybe some yoga! Mix it up, rest, then go play again. ya!

  6. Pingback: Work smarter. Train smarter. Run smarter. | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a comment