Ya, mon

“Ya, mon” <—officially my favorite Jamaican saying, ever.

That and “we don’t have problems, just situations.” I mean, how smart is that, right??

But I digress.

The good news? Jamaica was *just* what the doctor ordered.

The bad news? Apparently I needed more than just a fanfrickintastic Jamaican retreat to heal me of the sickies I was plauged with just before we left. Yup, I’m sick. Again. But this time, I SWEAR it’s going to be gone by tomorrow. For reals.

But let’s get back to the fun stuff. No complaints in this blog post! Like I said, there are no problems in Jamaica, only situations. And in this case, we got ourselves into lots of “situations” – but only fun ones, I swear!

There was lots of this:

Pool time. Ah, love.

And these…Miami Vice, yum. No shame from this fitblogger. 😉

And a few of these…walks on the VERY short beach (no running on this trip, the beach was tiny…but again, no guilt or shame from me on this trip…for the first time ever, I didn’t feel guilt for lack of working out to counterbalance the yummy eats and drinks. I count this as a huge step for me, especially since I had barely gotten one workout in before the trip due to aforementioned sickies. Again…digressing.)

And best of all? Lots of time with some of my favorite people…this guy (he’s so cute):

My sis (and yes, I realize we look naked here…or at least I do, LOL):

Great friends (Jo and M, Scott and I, and fab friend Michele and her boyfriend Stephen):

And of course, couldn’t resist – one more shot with Scott.

All in all – this was the exact right trip at the exact right time. It was a blast. Loved spending it with my sis (and her bf, M!). Loved everything about it. Even if it meant coming back to another bout of sick. But I’m not gonna worry about it, mmk? Tomorrow’s a new day, afterall.

Ya, mon. 😉

25 thoughts on “Ya, mon

  1. Looks like a fabulous time! I always get sick before a vacation and even more sick when I am about to travel internationally, what’s up with that??

    And what’s a Miami Vice? I never heard of it but I kinda want one….and of course, some beach time!

    • It was an awesome time, sickies and all. Totally worth it…even just for the tan and the vitamin D from the sun!!

      A miami vice is a half pina colada/half strawberry daquiri. Delish. Totally not calorie-free but totally worth it on this trip!

    • seriously…such fun, I could use a nap, after plowing through my book in the sun, sipping on fruity concoctions and laughing at our stupid little jokes. Oh wait. It’s back to reality huh. Boohoo!

  2. FUN! Jamaica looks beautiful and so are you and your sis. Traveling can definitely wear down the immune system, but I bet you’ll be feeling better in no time at all!

    • I know, once I stopped to think about all the travel it took to get there and back, no wonder I relapsed. I wasn’t quite 100% when I left for the trip to begin with. BOO! But you’re right, hopefully I’ll bounce back quickly. I better – I’m sick of being sick!

  3. Some friends from DC just headed to Jamaica today!! They got a crazy cheap deal on it and Kate ran her first full last weekend (f-ing Killed it, too…we were blown away) and I can’t imagine a better “guilt free” getaway after something like that 🙂 or, ya know, just whenever you need it! Looks fabulous!

    • Ohhh cool! Where did they stay, do you know? We were in the Dunn’s River Falls area, was gorgeous – though WAY too far away from the airport. Took almost 2 hrs on the bus to get there. Yuck! But totally worth the wait, obviously. 😉

  4. i’m so jealous of your beautiful sun and blue skies! 🙂 it looks like you had an amazing trip! i’m glad it was so much fun & you got to relax (although being sick on vacation is a major bummer…).

  5. Hurrah for some Jamaican down-time and no guilt! I’m sorry you’re sick again, but we listen to our bodies, right? Reeeeest and let your body do its thang.

    And thanks for steering me, with a firm hand, in a similar direction. The more I wind things down, the more tired I feel, and the more I want to rest some more. I must’ve been running off some crazy adrenaline and caffeine spikes! You are a good blog buddy to have Jess.

    ps — [dumb question alert] — are you and your sister twins?

    • I know, I guess I better take my own advice huh – take the rest, guilt-free. I am just sooooooo over this sick thang, like REALLY over it. Blah. But I’m glad you are taking my steering, even if just a little bit, that makes me smile. 🙂

      And haha – love your question, not dumb at all! I’m actually one of three – triplets. Jo and I are identical and our sister Jen is fraternal. She’s the one with the cutest daughter ever, my niece, who I love SOOOO much!

  6. Yeah glad you had a fun holiday in Jamaica, the pictures look great! What a perfect time of the year to go away and get some sun.

  7. I’m glad you had a great trip! Memories made of vacations are always some of the best to look back on. I always say I need a vacation after the vacation, so take a few days, rest up, and kick those germs in the butt! Glad you’re back 🙂

    • In this case, I totally need a vacation from vacation, just so I can kick these germs to the curb! The vacation was totally worth it though so I guess it all evens out in the long run, right?

Leave a comment