How to make a lasting first impression

How to make a lasting first impression – on your first day at your fancy schmancy new gig:

  • Beat your boss to the office on the first day. Awesome.
  • Settle right in with the marketing team, *almost* without skipping a beat. Awesome.
  • Get into a card accident en route to dinner with your boss that night. Not. Awesome.

Oof.

Let’s just say that wasn’t the “big bang” I was aiming for on my first day — but it sure *did* leave a lasting first impression, I’ll say that.

Thankfully, I was not injured – nor was the woman that I rear-ended (cringe). And now that two days has passed, I’m pleased that I haven’t had any neck or back pain, despite the 40+ mph I was going when I smashed into the car in front of me. And sure, my car is probably totaled (UGH – will know for sure on Thursday when they appraise it), what’s more important to me is that I’m alive, uninjured – and aside from freaking the sh*t out of my husband and sisters (and boss!) that night – life will go on.

And, it’s made for quite the icebreaker in conversations with new colleagues. 😉

Aside from that, though – what this week (so far) has taught me? I needed this.
…the un-routine (that I’m already experiencing).
…the uncomfortable moments where it’s up to me to “fake it until I make it.”
…tThe “new beginnings” that this year promises to offer me at every turn of the corner.

I know that next week when I travel to Cali to meet the rest of my coworkers will be another challenge in and of itself. But I’m feeling so ready for it. Even if that means getting creative with my workouts (and maybe trying something new, workout-wise, while I’m out there – more on that later!). Finding a way to maintain my semblance of balance food-wise, especially with lots of after work socializing happening. And yes, even if that means being away from Scott for four days. I can do this. We can do this.

Because hell, if I can get through my first week, car accident and all, and still be smiling? Next week ain’t got nothing on me. 😉

*********

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’ll be off to find a semblance of routine with my long-awaited return to barre n9ne for my favorite double of the week tonight, followed by a killer sweatfest tomorrow morning, run-style. (Oh how I heart sweat!)

OH – and before I forget – can I just say how incredibly AMAZED I am by all of your awesome comments on my post yesterday?? I promise to respond to each of them as soon as I can. You guys are awesome!!