Minor tweaks

Minor tweaks.

That’s the name of the game lately, especially for this week and next. This is me learning to roll with the punches just a little bit more in 2012 – Type A and all.

A few examples…

Big plans to nail the remainder of my workouts this week, including a killer double session at barre n9ne I had on the schedule for last night. That is, until about halfway through the day on Thursday when my neck started to ache. Hello late-breaking pains from the car accident on Monday night, where did you come from? Please kindly go away.
Minor tweak: skip the latter half of my planned double at barre n9ne – the fusion class which includes a fair amount of upper body work – in favor of just taking the legs class followed by an impromptu (and much-needed) date night-in with the hubs.

“Scheduling” into my calendar for next week – while in Cali – my workouts, to make sure I fit them in despite a very hectic week planned. They include:

– a final barre n9ne method class on Sunday;
– an early-AM run on the ‘mill on Monday before my flight; and a possible PM workout with co-workers (Details TBD, but lemme just say, it’ll take me WAY WAY WAY out of my comfort zone!)
– an early-AM date with the treadmill on Tuesday at my hotel followed by stretching
– an early-AM date with the treadmill on Wednesday at my hotel, hopefully a Core Fusion DVD in my room that night (or after I run if I’m up early given the time difference!)
– either a quick run on the treadmill at my hotel OR a Core Fusion DVD in my room before spending a few hours in the office on Thursday prior to heading to the airport

Once I’m home? It’ll be back to barre n9ne I go, and VERY happily so. I’m going to miss it a TON while I’m gone.

Minor tweaks: Since this is my first trip to Cali for work, I will not be venturing far from my hotel/office quite yet. I want to immerse myself into the company, get to know my coworkers, etc. so I won’t be heading off to try out a new barre studio or anything until the next trip. I want to keep my nights free for socializing with co-workers, a must-do item on my list, even if it may take me out of my comfort zone now and then (like the aforementioned “workout with coworkers” above).

And finally, another minor tweak worth mentioning: my race calendar. I laid it out all nice and perty for you here. And then I revised it again and laid it out for real this time, here.
Minor tweaks: Racing with friends is much more fun. And this time around will include racing with super crazy, super awesome running friends like Sam and “Coachy(who I am pretty sure I’m gonna love when I meet him, crazy guy and all). So rather than run the Race to Remember in May, Scott and I have opted to run the Cox Rhode Race Half Marathon on May 6 in Providence. It’s supposed to be a super fast course. And there *may* be a PR goal lurking in my mind…but I’m not giving that one up quite  yet. For now I’m just excited to race with friends…and to officially kick off half marathon (#4!) training in March (is it time yet)??