Switching it up

First – I need to say thank you for all of your loving words of support and encouragement after my last post on Nala, I totally appreciate it (more than you know) and I know my sister was really, really touched by all of your thoughts and prayers. So, thank you. I am working very hard to keep the faith strong for the both of us so please continue saying your prayers and sending positive thoughts her way for Nala.

********

Moving on to other thoughts rolling around in my brain today – I’m on the topic of switching it up, or shocking the system. Yup, you got it – I’m quasi back on the STS train, and LOVING it. As you know, I took a hiatus from STS after doing both a 3-month and 6-month rotation in an effort to give my body something new to focus on – which also happened to be around the time that I was intensely into my Kick training. After rotating Group Power into my regime as my main weight training element, I found that the endurance it built was great but after doing it for about six months or so, my body was definitely getting used to it. I wasn’t as sore anymore, I was adding more weight here and there but just felt a little bit stagnant after awhile.

Essentially, my body was telling me it wanted a shock, so shock it I’m doing! I started doing my own “version” of STS last week which so far, I think I’ll do as follows:

2 weeks at Meso 1 (reminder – this is all about endurance building so high reps, lower weights)

2 weeks at Meso 2 (hypertrophy phase, meaning less reps – usually 10 or 12 per set, and higher weights)

2 weeks at Meso 3 (strength phase, meaning even fewer reps – usually only 7-8, and the highest weights of all)

So far, it’s working out great.  I’m in the second week of Meso 1 and am feeling those DOMS like whoa in my legs, in particular. For some reason, Meso 1 leg workouts KILL me most of all. I was on the Ride bike this morning in sheer agony until I got warmed up – my thighs, of all places, were on fire! Not a bad thing given I don’t particularly *love* my thighs (who does??), but still. 😉

In addition to three days of STS strength training, I’ve been trying to focus on running since that Wicked Half will be here before I know it (eek), mixed with Ride and Kick once per week (since I’m not on a regular teaching rotation right now, I’m taking the class to keep sharp – plus the new release just came in the mail so we’ll be starting group practices again soon too, oh boy!).

So – that’s my story of late, shock it, baby! Love to know what you do when you feel like you’re starting to get a little stagnant in your current routine – do you add a new cardio challenge? A new weight rotation? A little of both? What’s your poison? 😉