Perspectives, viewpoints and…rest

Isn’t it funny how perspective can change depending on the day of the week? Driving into work this morning I was filled with a sense of contentment and peace – all because today is Friday, and a “summer Friday” at that (we get out of work at 3 in the summer which is HUGE for me considering standard hours have us here until 5:30 or 6pm). Got me thinking about perspectives and viewpoints. Sort of like looking through a kaleidoscope – depending on how you look at it, the image that’s portrayed is quite different.

I know I talk about this all the time – but damn, perspective is a real kick in the pants sometimes, isn’t it? If I could just hold on to that feeling of peace/contentment, etc. during the rest of the week versus holding onto the endless to-do lists running through my head and all of the must-do’s versus want-to-do activities, I might have more of a spring in my step than I have had lately. That’s not to say that I’m also till ready for that next “chapter” whatever that may be, but in the meantime, kaleidoscope-like perspective may help. Just sayin’.

Another point-of-view I’m desperately seeking? That rest days are a GOOD thing and a necessary evil.

Case in point: Today I slept in versus getting up for a short run before work (long run tomorrow on the books so was aiming for a short get-out-and-enjoy-the-early-morning run this AM). I shouldn’t have even “planned” in my head any sort of workout today since I’ve worked out every day this week, maybe twice a day in some cases. I know, sanely, I need to rest and today should be it – especially given tomorrow I’m REALLY hoping for a good, long run as I continue on my slow prep towards the Wicked Half. But the little devil on my shoulder keeps whispering in my ear “well, you do get out of work earlier than normal today, you can totally fit a workout in this afternoon.” Um, that sort defeats the purpose of resting, must resist the temptation.

So – the viewpoint in my head that rest is good and that trying to be a no-rest-day-gym-hero will do me no good is one I’m desperately seeking. I think part of the battle for me is that I love working out so much (my “me” time as I always say), that to willingly deny that time for myself is hard. I know it’s the right thing to do, but still – it feels like a sacrifice or something (which I know is sorta irrational, ha!).  Battle in my head, battle on this blog (I KNOW I’ve blogged about rest and lack thereof very often, sorry for the repeat performance!), battle no more – I need to embrace rest! Someone smack me upside the head with that mantra, please?

Thanks,

Resting (or trying to) Rhoda