Workin’ those pipes!

Well.

After last night’s chest and back workout, I awoke to a decent case of DOMS this morning, especially in the pec region. Something I did not fully appreciate until tonight’s bi’s/tri’s workout, that’s for sure.

Here’s how my “something new” strength workout looked today.

Biceps/Triceps – endurance-style (high reps; low weights)

Superset #1: barbell curl (30 lbs) followed by triceps dips (bodyweight); 3 sets @16 reps each. 30 secs rest between each set.

Superset #2: concentration curls (15 lbs) followed by lying triceps extension with barbell (20 lbs); 3 sets @ 16 reps each. 30 secs rest between each set.

Superset #3: incline curls (15 lbs) followed by double arm kickbacks (10 lbs each); 3 sets @16 reps each. 30 secs rest between each set.

Superset #4: hammer curls (15 lbs) followed by one arm overhead triceps extension (20 lbs); 3 sets @16 reps each. 30 secs rest between each set. <—let’s just say that those hammer curls got me good, ended up closer to 12 reps since I chose to do double-arm style vs. single. And man was I tired by then!

I gotta say – it felt damn good to work those pipes (hehe love that word) again today. I felt strong at the beginning, but wiped (in a good, worked-hard way) at the end.  One thing I’ve noticed though, already? I miss the lengthening I get from Core Fusion when it comes to building strength. I like the balance of building strength with building length. A lot more than I think I realized before.

To accomodate that need? I rounded out today’s workout with Core Fusion: Yoga Energy Flow. Who knew I’d finally start wanting to do yoga? But I totally do now! I’m starting to get a hang of the flows in this workout, too – a lot of downward facing dog into chatarunga into upward facing dog with planks swapped out for the chatarunga, or push-ups. It’s a really awesome flow, it takes a lot of endurance to keep it up – but hey, that’s the name of my game this month apparently, endurance baby!

17 thoughts on “Workin’ those pipes!

    • Ha, I’m getting there! Weight training is back, cardio is a little slow to return but I’ll get there. Hopefully sooner rather than later. I guess I didn’t realize how much this illness took a toll on me. Boo!

  1. You are rocking those workouts!! Were your arms nice and toasted at the end of the workout? That’s a good weight you’re lifting for your biceps. Great workout!

  2. I’m excited that you are excited about yoga. 🙂 I’ve been increasing my practice recently (thanks to my job at lululemon), and I love the benefits of core strength and balance. Not to mention the mental benefits!

    • I totally am! Now that I’ve found a style I really like, I’m digging it! I haven’t found a studio around here yet that I love but that’s next on my list. 🙂

    • I would LOVE to do that!! Let’s plan on it. 🙂
      Core Fusion Yoga was awesome last night – and after working my upper body two days in a row, I REALLY felt it in my arms during all those downward dog flows. Goes to show how much of a total body workout yoga can be, surprisingly so.

  3. I’m so glad you’re sharing these workouts. I definitely need some guidance with the weights and you’re explanations are super helpful. Welcome to the gun show! Hahaha!

  4. Ooh, I like the idea of building length along with strength. Good call! And to answer your question about the sugar, I’ll be reintroducing fresh fruit and agave, possibly even tomorrow. I’m going to do it a bit at a time to try and cement the habit of not relying too much on it though. It’s an easy habit as a vegan, tho the dried fruit and snack bars were the particular problem…

    Hope you’re feeling better!

  5. Pingback: Let’s recap, shall we? « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

