I’m not perfect

There. I said it.

I’m. Not. Perfect.

I’m selfish. More selfish than I like to admit, even to myself.

I have ‘fat’ days.

And I’m ashamed to say that because I know how important positive body image is. I need to change my mindset. For good.

I work hard to be good to my loved ones. But I know I could always be a better friend, better wife, better sister, better daughter, better auntie.

I’m not perfect.

I love to workout yet I still have days when getting out of bed (especially a warm cozy one like today) is near-impossible. Willpower usually gets me through but there are days where I give in to the sleep, even on “non-planned” rest days.

I’m not perfect.

I don’t have a great relationship with my father. Never have. But it’s slowly improving. We’ll never be traditional father/daughter, but father/daughter “friends” I can accept.

I’m not perfect (neither is he).

I’m judgmental. Sometimes. It’s self-inflicted judgment sometimes.Β  At other times, its aimed at someone else. Neither is good or justified.

I’m not perfect.

I have a crooked nose. A huge scar on my knee. Abs that could be stronger. Short legs. But sparkling, happy eyes, strong arms and legs that carry me through each day. All perfectly imperfect.

And that’s ok.

I’ve clearly been doing a ton of self-reflection lately. There are various reasons for this, some that I can divulge here, some that I cannot. Yet. (I promise, I will when I can)

But mainly, I’m thinking about who I want to be, where I want to go, and just what does 2011 have in store for me and what can I do to shape my year ahead to be the best possible year it can be.

That might sound like I’m just overthinking or getting too wound up into my Type A planner mode, but I promise you I’m not. I’m just doing some reflecting andΒ  looking at 2011 as a year of growth and change.

Good growth.

Good change.

And maybe a few resolutions thrown in for good measure (who are we kidding, we all know I’ll have resolutions for the new year, this is still ME afterall, right??).

 

16 thoughts on “I’m not perfect

    • HA, yes we are DEFINITELY sisters in a past life, for real. Feel free to borrow it – once again, this concept came to mind while working out this morning, seriously blog topics have been popping up so randomly lately. I usually have something in mind to blog about but lately they’ve just come to me vs. feeling “planned” know what I mean?

      PS. I seriously do have a crooked nose. But I’m ok with it that. πŸ˜‰

  1. Great post, I think you’re perfect just the way you are. You’re “you”. I think for me, I’ve had to let go of striving for perfection but it hasn’t been easy especially when it comes to family relationships. I think I’ve accepted the way some family members are and maybe acceptance for me has been key. Some things will never be perfect but that’s okay and maybe I have to accept the person for who they are.

    I can relate to the body imperfections as well, my abs aren’t my hottest area of my body but I’m happy enough about my legs and arms. My legs are definitely my best feature. Would love to have nice skin that is tanned but I’m stuck with pasty white freckly Irish skin.

    Heres to a wonderful 2011!!

    • SO true. We’re each perfect the way we are because we ARE who we are. Right?
      Hell I say having great legs is an awesome quality to have! I betcha those Cathe workouts play a pretty big role πŸ™‚
      Cheers!

  2. Just wondered have you tried all of the new Cathes? I did Intensiyt again today, it’s tough!! I did the ab section from STS 4 but found it too hard and felt the exercises in my hip flexors rather than my abs. I’ll try the ab sections from high reps after I’ve done STS disc 16.

    • I’ve only tried Intensity so far since I’m in the midst of an STS rotation right now so I haven’t tried Lower Body Blast or High Reps. BUT I am planning to do STS Total Body tomorrow, and can hardly wait!! I’ve noticed on the forums that a lot of folks seem to think the ab work in STS total body is too hard/too tough on hip flexors. Interesting. I’ll report back tomorrow! πŸ™‚

  3. Yes, sis you are not perfect in a perfect way πŸ™‚ And your nose gives you character. Just kidding, it’s really NOT that crooked! you only see it cuz it bugs you! Nobody else really does! XO!

  4. We all have our imperfections! That’s what makes us different and special, right? (not that I don’t have some of the same struggles.) I’ve never actually “seen” you, but I don’t think your nose is crooked!

  5. Pingback: Sometimes, I wonder – revisited « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  6. Pingback: Embracing imperfection…or unlocking confidence? « Determined to Be

  7. I love this concept. Just read your sister’s from today. I think women, in general, are way more judgmental & critical of ourselves and others than men. I know my husband loves me, thinking I’m beautiful and wonders why I feel this way. I did feel better about myself when I was jogging. I joined a gym and I’m getting back into it. Hoping I start to feel better soon πŸ™‚

    • Ah! Thank you for stopping by! I love when my sister’s blog friends visit me. She *is* the popular chick on the block afterall πŸ˜‰
      I’m so with you – I know my husband loves me and thinks I’m beautiful so WHY do I have trouble believing it myself sometimes? It doesn’t make me vain or arrogant if I admit to feeling beautiful so why don’t I (and you, and all women!) just embrace it, own it?? Such a foreign concept to us, isn’t it?

  8. Pingback: Give it up for…..

Leave a comment