Dashing through the snow…

…on a one-horse open sleigh.

Oh wait.

Let’s try that again.

Dashing through the snow…with Scott by my side, sloshing through slushy snow puddles and giggling like a schoolgirl. <—sorry, I couldn’t make that rhyme whatsoever like the Christmas Carol, I tried!

That’s more like it!

Exactly how last night’s first attempt at running on the snow covered streets went.

And after the first mile where my quads took time to adjust to the added resistance of running through snow provided, I LOVED IT.

Runner’s high? We’re officially BFF’s again.

Running through the snow, cool air rushing past my face, the darkness that surrounded us on what was the shortest day of the year yesterday. It was just awesome.

Exactly what I needed last night, and totally re-inspired me to continue avoiding that dreadmill as much as I can this winter. Snow be damned!

So what if I end up ruining my sneakers a lot quicker by sloshing through snow.

So what if my toes are freezing by the end and my face is numb.

So what.

I’m outside.

Breathing it all in.

The fresh (cold) air. The birds (what’s left of them) chirping. The sound of our feet hitting the pavement, and that muted sound when we hit a patch of snow.

Awesome.

I’m totally re-inspired! Maybe training for a half in the winter isn’t as out of the realm of possibility as I thought. Hmmm. šŸ˜‰

15 thoughts on “Dashing through the snow…

  1. Hi Jess(ica?)! I wanted to pop over and say hello….I’m the (kind of) third “Jess” in Jolene’s crew…and being that you both belong to a “triplet'” I figured why not? It’s perfect, right?

    Anyhow: I love running in the winter! We trained for a marathon last year through the winter….the marathon was in Hawaii, though, where it was 80 degrees, so we didn’t exactly plan that very well…I digress. And my popping over has turned into a novel, so I’m going to stop myself, now. šŸ™‚

    • Hi!! Thank you for stopping by! I love that you’re now the “unofficial” third/fourth triplet. Thank you for stopping by!!

      Running in winter – this is my first hardcore foray into running in the winter outside in the snow. Last winter, I did some outdoor running but mainly stuck to the treadmill which i officially hate. So I’m GLAD that I’ve discovered running in the winter is kinda fun afterall. šŸ™‚

      What part of the country are you from? Running in Hawaii must’ve been unreal!

  2. Yeah glad you’re enjoying the running in this cold weather. Sounds like you’ve got our snow too. Thanks for writing a great blog, I’ve really enjoyed reading it and hearing about your fitness workouts and thoughts.

  3. This post makes me SO excited about running! šŸ™‚ I love your description of running in the cold, outside….I know some people hate it, but there is something so invigorating about it, right? You described it perfectly. šŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: Running, running, running… « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  5. I totally cracked up about running be your BFF. I consider running my husband. Sometimes it has to spend the night on the couch even though I *try* not go to bed mad at it. haha.

  6. Pingback: Well, that happened… « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

