Cloudy with a chance of meatballs (?)

So yeah, when the meteorologist called it a “washout” for the upcoming forecast on Sunday (i.e. RACE DAY), this is the first image that came to mind.

Anyone else LOVE this book growing up??

Throughout training for the half marathon, I never once really considered that it could be a rainy, wet day on race day. I had been bracing myself for the possibility of super humidity and heat but not rain.

I guess I should have known better – especially considering how many times I’ve been caught in the rain this summer during training!

But rather than worry about something that is totally out of my control (as my husband so smartly pointed out last night after my sis texted me about the forecast), I figured I’d make a pros and cons list, y’know just in case the weather guys are right and we are faced with lots of rain on Sunday.

The Pros:

…it’ll feel like I’m running through sprinklers constantly

…it will NOT feel like I’m running through soup (I hope not anyway…gazpacho maybe?)

…I definitely will not overheat <sigh of relief>

…it’ll be a nice distraction as those miles start to add up

…it’ll make for a quasi-peaceful race (don’t ask but running in the rain always feels so cleansing to me, oddly enough)

…since I have run in the rain quite a few times this training cycle, perhaps I’ll have the upper hand on other runners who avoid the rain like the plague.

…it’ll make for some pretty badass post-race pictures.

The Cons:

…um. It’ll feel like I’m running through sprinklers constantly (2 hours in might start to feel a wee bit chilly)

…I *might* not to be able to rock my Lululemon Run shorts (which I wore today and LOVED in case you were wondering)

…the wind *might* slow me down (hopefully the winds are light…trying not to read into the forecast all that much yet)

So after tallying up the pros and cons, the pros *still* outweigh the cons, surprisingly enough. I suppose if I can rock 13.1 in the rain, I can rock any race, am I right? <–this is me giving myself a “who cares if it’s going to rain” pep talk

So yes, I’m still ready to crush this thing, rain or shine – I’m just hoping not to run into any meatballs along the way… (will be testing out the “rain” theory during tomorrow’s short run since we’re supposed to get rain tomorrow too…).

24 thoughts on “Cloudy with a chance of meatballs (?)

  1. Oh sad face if we can’t wear our run shorts!! I am still planning to unless it’s like, super chilly or something! I hadn’t even considered a washout day for our half either, but you bring up good points on the pros. I’m gonna stick with those I’m thinking and do some anti-rain dances in the meantime!

    • I know – I LOVED THEM this morning, so comfy and moved so well with me. Perfect fit. I am being VERY optimistic about the forecast for Sunday – and if we *do* see a few meatballs, oh well – we’ll survive right?? (and now, I have the oddest craving for a meatball, I wonder why?)

    • Totally – I can deal with the rain much easier than killer heat or humidity (or for you, killer cold shot!). You’re right – running in the rain is totally silly fun – just like running through sprinklers!!

  2. Were you in my house this morning? Hannah and I totally watched the movie together when she woke up! (Ever seen the movie? If not, you must since you loved it as a kid – as did I!)

    I have nothing Lululemon in my stash, but when I hit some goals of mine, you better believe I have a wish list set!

    I hope the weather’s perfect for you guys…I do remember hearing the same thing up there as I do here in the mountains: Don’t like the weather? Wait 5 minutes. 😉 It’s so unpredictable.

    • I have NOT seen the movie but now I kind of want to!! I loved that book!! haha

      You MUST get yourself some lulu gear, SO SO SO worth it!! You somehow feel even more athletic wearing their cute gear, it’s the best ever!!

      I am also thinking along your lines – it’s bound to change a million times before Sunday, right??

  3. oooo booo what happened to our good weather? I think all we can do is try to be positive and laugh about it. When I see bad weather I was always think for a second about withdrawing, but we have made it this far and can make it through some rain, its only water…right?

  4. Rain does make things interesting! Do they do drop bags to pick up at the end of the race? If they do, toss in some dry socks and shirt (king sleeve?)…that’ll help at the end. 🙂

    You’ll rock the race, no matter what!!

    • I was totally thinking about that on the drive into work today – bringing clothes to change into so I’m not stuck in sopping wet clothes on the drive home after the race. Smart move, now let’s hope I remember to bring some!!

    • totally – I’m trying to focus on the positives that FAR outweigh the negatives and either way? I’m ready to roll so the forecast makes no real difference, meatballs or no meatballs 😉

  5. Running in the rain ROCKS! I’ll take it over heat and humidity any day! And your Lulu gear will hold up in the rain. I ran the rainy Portland Marathon in Lulu gear and it was just fine. Just make sure you wear a hat (to keep the rain out of your eyes). I would also recommend wearing a short-sleeved shirt or tank (if its not cold). Anything long-sleeve could weigh you down with the extra water. HAVE FUN!

    • I’ve just never run an actual race in the rain – running in the rain and racing in the rain feel very different, but maybe I need to stop looking at it that way?? I just checked the weather again and now it’s looking like it MIGHT hold off until the afternoon. So keep those “rain rain go away” dances alive for me, mmk??

  6. You are going to crush it! The rain may be just the thing you need if you can figure out how to dress appropriately. If I ran a 1/2 in a downpour when it was 40 degrees out you can KILL a 1/2 marathon in the summer downpour.

    And the wind… it’s got nothing on you!

    • And that, my friend, is the only inspiration I needed – imagining you running in 40 degrees in the rain makes 70s in the rain seem like NOTHING to worry about. Love it. Thanks lady!!

  7. Good luck and yes, loved and love that book. Rain will make your race something you never forget. I did a 20-miler in the rain and I remember it more than the marathon. It’s an ice-breaker you will think of the rain more than your nerves. Rain doesn’t seem to affect time. It rained for a NYC half last year and clients did as well if not better than expected. Can’t wait to hear more. Your Healthy Apron post was fantastic.

    • Hi there – thank you for stopping by, I had such a blast writing the guest post for Erin! I’m glad to “meet” you here 🙂

      I think you’re right – the rain will be a total icebreaker for race day nerves! And now that I’m looking at the forecast (like every five secs), it’s looking like the rain won’t really start until the afternoon so we *may* end up rain free! 🙂

  8. Pingback: You know you’re a (crazy) runner when… | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  9. Pingback: “Why do you want to run a half marathon?” « Determined to Be

  10. Pingback: Thoughts, 13.1 of them | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  11. Pingback: Note to self: On the eve of your second half marathon | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

