A comment that changed everything…

…for those of you that blog, you know exactly what I mean. Just one comment from a reader who brings a new, fresh perspective can change everything. Well, I had that moment today.

If you go to my blog post from yesterday and read the comment from Lourdes, you can probably guess where this blog post is heading.

It’s time to change up how I’ve been approaching Kick. Up until now, I’ve simply woven it into my existing workout regime. And, that has often meant working out more and more, which isn’t a bad thing necessarily, but when it causes me to lose focus without me even realizing it? Yes, then it’s a bad thing.

After reading Lourdes’ comment (THANK you a million times over!), I realized, in part, what my struggle has been with Kick, at least recently. I’ve been overdoing it – trying to be great at everything – running harder and longer, lifting heavier and harder, kicking and jabbing with ferocity. While Kick has been quite the mental challenge for me as well as physical, the fact that I’ve been weaving Kick into several other workouts hasn’t necessarily been the best idea. And – I probably never would have considered that fact had it not been for Lourdes’ comment.

So, what am I going to do about it, you ask? I’m going to do something that’s I’ve never considered before. I’m going to focus. Just on Kick and core/endurance work.

What that means is no more Power classes. Limited running or spinning. No Cathe workouts. Almost a sole focus on Kick:

…Learning the ten new tracks for the Spring ’10 release.

…Practicing technique so my punches are more intense, my kicks more precise.

…Working on my core via pilates and core fusion classes (and planks every night before bed, plus 25 push-ups since the new Kick release has push-ups galore in the conditioning track)

…Improving my endurance even more so I’m not wimpering my way through the tail-end of a Kick workout, and thus, ruining my Kick technique in the process.(this may mean a couple of running sessions during the week)

This is HARD for me to swallow. Cutting certain things from my typical workout regime is already something my mind is battling. I want to lift weights. I want to spin. I want to run (though I think a case can be made to keep running in the mix for the sheer endurance benefits it has).

But what I want more is to ROCK Kick. Like really rock it. I want to be in the top of my “class” vs. somewhere in the bottom half.

So that means sacrifices. Mentally, I need to prepare. Physically, I’m ready to Kick, Kick, Kick.

Mentally I need to push out the irrational fear that avoiding weight lifting or other forms of cardio will NOT make me lose muscle strength or “lose” my spinning and/or running ability. I also need to realize that this is short-term, for the most part. For the next couple of weeks, especially leading into the launch of the new release, I’m going to be very Kick focused. My sister agrees to a certain extent, but part of her thinks we’ll get “kicked out” from doing Kick and not that much else as part of our workout routine. I’m taking the “why not” approach (or trying to!) – figuring that maybe the reason I’ve struggled with Kick is because I haven’t had as much focus as perhaps I need to in order to achieve my goal of not only passing the Kick assessment but getting a class of my own on the gym schedule.

As you can see, a lot of this is still running around in my head, but I’m going to give it a shot. I owe it to myself to find focus. I equate it to preparing for a finals in college. You spend hours and hours and days and days focused on the materials you need to read and review in order to pass those intense exams at the end of the semester. I need to approach Kick in much the same fashion, at least now that I have new material to learn in the next few weeks and while I still have the Kick assessment looming over my head.

Though, I was never very good at “studying” in college – I was always one that pretty much picked things up as I went and didn’t need to study hard-core like others in my class. But then, maybe that’s my problem now – I think I can “cram” and get by with Kick but that’s not so this time. I’ve got to accept the fact that this particular challenge or “test” is going to take extra work than perhaps I’ve had to put in, in the past.

So, my workouts this week will be pretty much all Kick, Kick run-throughs with my fellow instructors and pilates/core work, plus MAYBE one long run (but that’s it, I promise).

And you know what? It’s ready or not time…I might be more “not” than “ready” now but I’ll come around. Hopefully. πŸ˜‰ WIsh me luck in the meantime – it’s gonna take some adjusting in mindset for me, that’s for sure.

16 thoughts on “A comment that changed everything…

  1. Great post sis – while I am going along with 99% of this, I am still going to Power, I just feel it will help me stay strong, with kicks and lunges and such. I’ll miss you at power tomorrow!

  2. Babe, I’m so sorry that you’ve had a rough few days, but I totally agree with the new plan – focus can only be a good thing! And you DEFINITELY will not lose any strength or endurance if you’re doing MORE kick…silly. ;-P

    Mwah!

  3. Girl, shaking my head. LOL. I do agree, focus on what you need to focus on. It’s universal really. Want to run faster, focus on running period. Want to bulk up, weights…done. Kick instructor…um…you get it πŸ˜‰ Muscles will not atrophy over night or within the week. Crazy I know! Hugs!!

  4. I definitely can agree with this. You want to focus your main efforts on what is most important to you right now. I think giving Kick your all will be in your best interests and that it will help you improve where you need to in order to prepare for instructing. And you definitely won’t lose much strength or endurance in other things by taking some time away from them for a bit. Good decision.

    • Tina, Heather – as you can probably guess, focus is VERY hard for me. I want to do it all and I know with this, I really can’t, at least not in the next couple of weeks while things are intense leading into the next Kick launch. I have a lot riding on this so I guess I’ll be forced to change my ways come hell or highwater!

  5. Maybe you could try some at-home yoga for something different. Yoga is great for strength and mental clarity, and it might provide some balance. If you JUST focus on kick, it might make you feel crazy! The only reason I say that is because I was studying for that exam for so long (without balance in other areas of my life), that it was making me feel obsessed and out of balance. Just a thought. πŸ™‚

    • You’re right Laura, I’m going to weave in some pilates work too this week so I’m not JUST doing Kick. And I *may* fit in either one run or one spinning day this week JUST so I don’t go Kick-crazy. I know, that’s not *quite* 100% focus like I promised, but a girl like me can’t change overnight, it’s just not happening πŸ˜‰

  6. wow, thank you for the shout out! i hope the new focused mix of kick + core works great and gets you where you want to be Kick-wise. i have a feeling it will!

    I agree with everyone else – there’s no way you’ll lose strength with all that Kick and yoga and pilates can give you strength too, while slowing you down and giving you a great mental boost.

    i just recently am getting back into working out after 9 months off my feet due to a back injury. i was so afraid that without running in my life i’d go insane, gain weight and constantly be ansty. all i had was a series of yoga and pilates stretches my doctor prescribed (literally, he wrote and drew the moves on a Rx pad!) that i had to do each morning. despite my fears of losing sanity and getting inches on my waist in return, i actually slimmed down a bit – literally stretched out some otherwise hard to work-out areas (lower tummy, love handles, etc!)

    anyways, i’m blabbing now, but thinking about starting a blog to chronicle my re-emergence into running and other stuff too down the road. that’s how i came across your blog. i’ll have to send you a link if i start it! thx for all your writing – it really is inspiring to see how much a woman can do – balance work, life, marriage etc. with what SHE needs πŸ™‚

    • Of course, Lourdes! You totally inspired me to switch things up in a big way – your words came at the exact right time! I’d love for you to send me a link to your blog when it’s started up! In the meantime, maybe you’d like to write a guest blog for me to get your blogger juices flowing?? πŸ™‚
      PS. Thank you for the kind words on my approach to fitness and balance πŸ™‚

  7. Pingback: Finishing what I started « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  8. Pingback: Hello, Kettle? Meet: Black. « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  9. Pingback: The “Wicked Half” « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  10. Pingback: Playing catch-up « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  11. Pingback: DOMS – now that’s what I’m talking about! « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  12. Pingback: “Run if you can, walk if you must, crawl if you have to – just don’t stop.” « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

